Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 17:55 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18991
No RF out on the HD boxes anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:45 
User avatar
Ticket to Ride World Champion

Joined: 18th Apr, 2008
Posts: 11515
would http://www.skifta.com/ work for your set up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:54 
User avatar
Can you dig it?

Joined: 5th Apr, 2008
Posts: 3169
Trooper wrote:
No RF out on the HD boxes anymore.


Really? What a swiz. A long RF cable and the in-line 'sky-eye' remote sensor was a quick and easy way to get sky up to the bedroom telly.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:56 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18497
Location: shropshire, uk
Cant you use sky go, and plug that device into a tv?

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:09 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46243
Sky Go blocks Airplay, irritatingly.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:19 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 50297
Location: Nottingham
Cras wrote:
Sky Go blocks Airplay, irritatingly.

Really? What a cunt.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:22 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46243
To be fair, I'm willing to bet 80% of Sky Go usage is by people who are just using it because the account holder doesn't. It makes sense to restrict it in that way.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:23 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18497
Location: shropshire, uk
Cras wrote:
To be fair, I'm willing to bet 80% of Sky Go usage is by people who are just using it because the account holder doesn't. It makes sense to restrict it in that way.


*looks sheepish*

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 14:50 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18991
Sky go doesn't let you play the content that is saved on your sky box though, that's what we really want.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 14:51 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 63774
Location: Your Mum
No help to you, but you can to that with Virgin.

Anyway, surely "big cable" is the best bet (although I have no idea if you are allowed to drill holes or anything).

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 14:52 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18991
Bobbyaro wrote:
would http://www.skifta.com/ work for your set up?


Nope, I can already do all that. It doesn't solve my problem ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 14:54 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18991
Grim... wrote:
No help to you, but you can to that with Virgin.

Anyway, surely "big cable" is the best bet (although I have no idea if you are allowed to drill holes or anything).


Heh, no Virgin in my block of flats :hat:

Big cable is the best bet, I agree.
I'm pretty certain I'm allowed to drill holes, i'll ask the owner though... Apparently I said it is fine :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 15:04 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 33263
Bed in the living room.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 15:06 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18991
DavPaz wrote:
Bed in the living room.


We have had the living room for a while now, it's pretty well understood and settled.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 15:22 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 33263
Trooper wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
Bed in the living room.


We have had the living room for a while now, it's pretty well understood and settled.

:applauds:

Grim... wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
If someone would buy me one... that would be lovely.

They come out tomorrow, say the papers. They're ever so cheap, so just buy one yourself.


Done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 15:24 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18497
Location: shropshire, uk
Trooper wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
Bed in the living room.


We have had the living room for a while now, it's pretty well understood and settled.


:DD

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 13:44 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 33263
Got my Chromecast this morning. I've had a quick play in the office and it's pretty nifty. It should be perfect for the second tv.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 13:50 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18991
"In practice, the video quality is low and the display can lag and skip frames."

These sort of comments in online press reviews i've read worry me. I'd be interested in a proper review if you get the time :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 13:55 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 33263
I didn't see any lag in the few youtube vids and netflix stuff I've tried, but i've literally only tried it for 10 minutes. The boss told me to turn it off. Fair do's, I was watching Avengers on work time :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 14:01 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 63774
Location: Your Mum
Trooper wrote:
"In practice, the video quality is low and the display can lag and skip frames."

These sort of comments in online press reviews i've read worry me. I'd be interested in a proper review if you get the time :)

I've not seen any difference between streaming to Chromecast and my (wired) TV's built in app at all, except Chromecast is faster.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 14:07 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 63774
Location: Your Mum
Bear in mind it's like two feet from my wifi router, though.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 9:05 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 30464
Video quality on Netflix on my Chromecast is great. No idea what that review is on about.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 10:24 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46243
Whatever, shill.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:54 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 43348
Location: West Yorkshire
Forgive me for being simple:

I can buy a chromecast, plug it into the HDMI port on the tellybox upstairs, set it into the wireless network and use a phone to control netflix and iplayer through that tv? All for £30?

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 13:12 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 33263
MaliA wrote:
Forgive me for being simple:

I can buy a chromecast, plug it into the HDMI port on the tellybox upstairs, set it into the wireless network and use a phone to control netflix and iplayer through that tv? All for £30?

As long as you have a clever phone

Or an ipod/ipad.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 13:14 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 43348
Location: West Yorkshire
DavPaz wrote:
MaliA wrote:
Forgive me for being simple:

I can buy a chromecast, plug it into the HDMI port on the tellybox upstairs, set it into the wireless network and use a phone to control netflix and iplayer through that tv? All for £30?

As long as you have a clever phone

Or an ipod/ipad.


Superb. I shall get one.

Thanks.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 13:14 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 33263
Excellent. They're ace.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:36 
Excellent Member

Joined: 5th Dec, 2010
Posts: 3253
This will no doubt be "Free" for Prime users, meaning the cost of Prime will go up to cover it :p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:53 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11761
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Chromecasts are indeed ace. Bought two of them late last week and now have my entire media library streamable pretty much everywhere I need it.

Although Plex Media Server fucks me right off in that it won't show anything that it can't match up to the databases.

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amazon set-top box?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:01 
User avatar
Sleepyhead

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 26257
Location: Kidbrooke
How do I use this to get content from my computer playing on my telly. Is that possible? If not, why not?

_________________
I've got a bad feeling about this.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: krazywookie, Lonewolves, Mimi, Pod People, The Greys, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.