Be Excellent To Each Other
http://www.beexcellenttoeachother.com/forum/

1st world problems
http://www.beexcellenttoeachother.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8629
Page 1 of 38

Author:  Trooper [ Wed May 30, 2012 21:40 ]
Post subject:  1st world problems

What 1st world problems are afflicting you at the moment?

Personally, I have two.

1) the new hard disks I bought for my Readynas are nice enough, however the Readynas has shit SATA drivers and it can't manage to spin them down properly, resulting in an annoying click every few minutes from the thing. However! Drobo have released new firmware that allows 3TB drive in their units, so I thought I would just swap a couple of disks over, a few hours of resyncing each and no problem. 12 hours later and the Drobo is still showing 72 hours left to go on the rebuild, which i'll have to do all over again once I try and move the next disk, then i'll need to resync the Readynas after all that, which'll take another day. Bloody things.

2) my quidco cashback hasn't tracked for my recent Sky install. I've put in a claim but i'm not hopeful. That was £100 that was...

I know neither of those things matter in the great scheme of things, but i'm still a bit put out regardless.

Author:  myp [ Wed May 30, 2012 21:42 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I can't quite afford a MacBook Pro right now.

Author:  BikNorton [ Wed May 30, 2012 21:55 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I'm taking cheap antibiotics while sitting at home fully paid, worrying it might make my twelve hour flight to Japan on Sunday slightly more uncomfortable than it would already be, and also how I'm going to get my posh headphones from work if I don't recover well enough to go in at all.

Author:  Grim... [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:05 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

A book I want isn't on Kindle.

Author:  Zardoz [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:12 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

The new 27" iMacs are taking ages to be released and I'm allowed to buy one.

Author:  Kern [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:20 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I had to buy some stuff to clean the crap off my iron with. Ironing's bad enough, but having to clean the dam thing? Bah.

Author:  Grim... [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Ooh, I've got another - I've lost the remote for the aircon in the house, and it doesn't have on-unit controls (well, it has "power", but it's set to "warm") :(

Why the fuck would aircon even have a "warm" setting?

Author:  Hugh [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:27 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

In the past few weeks I've been to Dublin, Tel Aviv, Stockholm and Milan and I'm, um, a bit tired.

Author:  Kern [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:31 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

The water cooler at work has more pressure than my shower at home. Heck, the Manneken Pis has a more powerful flow than my shower. Somehow I put up with it.

Author:  WTB [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:36 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Kern wrote:
The water cooler at work has more pressure than my shower at home. Heck, the Manneken Pis has a more powerful flow than my shower. Somehow I put up with it.


A weak shower is a perfectly legitimate thing to be unhappy about. We're renting, and I turned down an otherwise ideal house because it had a pathetic shower. Absolutely vital.

Author:  WTB [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(

Author:  Trooper [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Grim... wrote:
Ooh, I've got another - I've lost the remote for the aircon in the house, and it doesn't have on-unit controls (well, it has "power", but it's set to "warm") :(

Why the fuck would aircon even have a "warm" setting?


You've got a programmable remote I assume? Can you not just put the right database of codes on it?

Author:  Trooper [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


That may have been part of the inspiration for this thread ;)

Author:  Cras [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


I'm not greatly convinced that counts as a 'saga'. I'm going to have to relegate you to 'happenstance', or possibly even 'event'.

Author:  WTB [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:40 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Craster wrote:
WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


I'm not greatly convinced that counts as a 'saga'. I'm going to have to relegate you to 'happenstance', or possibly even 'event'.


But it's still a problem, right? Right? :(

Author:  WTB [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Trooper wrote:
WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


That may have been part of the inspiration for this thread ;)


Ha!

Author:  kalmar [ Wed May 30, 2012 22:42 ]
Post subject:  1st world problems

I'll grant an 'incident' but that's being generous.

Grim..., they have a heat mode because it's a heat pump. I use one for heating only (no need for cooling here).

Author:  TheVision [ Thu May 31, 2012 0:30 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I have too many games to play.

Author:  Dimrill [ Thu May 31, 2012 0:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

It averages 340 Kelvin on here! It's sweltering!

Author:  Malabelm [ Thu May 31, 2012 8:40 ]
Post subject:  1st world problems

It’s my first day without overtime in a week, I overestimated the traffic, arrived at work 40 minutes early, so now I’m sitting here not getting paid.

Author:  KovacsC [ Thu May 31, 2012 8:56 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

One of my projects is now on contract, it is really really cool, but it can't go on my CV!

Author:  Warhead [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:05 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

1. When I switch the output on my V+ box to HD, the channel guide pop-up stuff is quite a bit narrower on screen. Damn annoying.

2. My daughter bought me a new mobile phone about 6 months ago but I haven't swapped from my old one yet because a)there's nothing really wrong with it, it's just a bit out of day, and b) it's a right faff having to tell everyone my new number. I mean, I know I could transfer my old number to my new handset, but my old one was with O2 and the new one is with 3, and when I did this once before things just didn't work right.

Author:  KovacsC [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:11 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Warhead wrote:
1. When I switch the output on my V+ box to HD, the channel guide pop-up stuff is quite a bit narrower on screen. Damn annoying.

2. My daughter bought me a new mobile phone about 6 months ago but I haven't swapped from my old one yet because a)there's nothing really wrong with it, it's just a bit out of day, and b) it's a right faff having to tell everyone my new number. I mean, I know I could transfer my old number to my new handset, but my old one was with O2 and the new one is with 3, and when I did this once before things just didn't work right.



Get new one unlocked and swap sims?

Author:  Zardoz [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:12 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I have to cycle through my source inputs on my TV, I can't jump directly to what I want.

Author:  Nemmie [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:16 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

My network card has for no apparent reason stopped waking from sleep properly forcing me to disable and enable to get my internet connection working.

Author:  markg [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:19 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

The teaspoons are all gone from the kitchen at work. Some yoghurt-eating cuntwit has hoarded them all I reckon. Had to use a tablespoon to make a brew >:(

Author:  Grim... [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:19 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Trooper wrote:
Grim... wrote:
Ooh, I've got another - I've lost the remote for the aircon in the house, and it doesn't have on-unit controls (well, it has "power", but it's set to "warm") :(

Why the fuck would aircon even have a "warm" setting?

You've got a programmable remote I assume? Can you not just put the right database of codes on it?

I've not thought of that. Good call.

Author:  asfish [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:25 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Spent the last 3 days moving data between various NAS

My wifes boss is a total cunt and trying to set up to hide is own screw ups. We work at the same place and having seen her upset I'm having some issues stopping myself kicking the shit out of him.

Author:  KovacsC [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:26 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

asfish wrote:
Spent the last 3 days moving data between various NAS

My wifes boss is a total cunt and trying to set up to hide is own screw ups. We work at the same place and having seen her upset I'm having some issues stopping myself kicking the shit out of him.


put super lax in his coffee :)

Author:  asfish [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:27 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

One good thing is he works on another site.

Author:  KovacsC [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:29 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I have upgraded Office and Visio to 2010. I can't find anything in Visio.....

Author:  Warhead [ Thu May 31, 2012 9:30 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

KovacsC wrote:
Warhead wrote:
1. When I switch the output on my V+ box to HD, the channel guide pop-up stuff is quite a bit narrower on screen. Damn annoying.

2. My daughter bought me a new mobile phone about 6 months ago but I haven't swapped from my old one yet because a)there's nothing really wrong with it, it's just a bit out of day, and b) it's a right faff having to tell everyone my new number. I mean, I know I could transfer my old number to my new handset, but my old one was with O2 and the new one is with 3, and when I did this once before things just didn't work right.



Get new one unlocked and swap sims?

Did that when she first bought it for me and there were all kinds of irritating problems with stuff that subsequently didn't work properly and that drove me nuts. Luckily, there was a problem with the case so I got a replacement but decided not to unlock that one.

Author:  Curiosity [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:16 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Malabelm wrote:
It’s my first day without overtime in a week, I overestimated the traffic, arrived at work 40 minutes early, so now I’m sitting here not getting paid.


At least you're not working.

Author:  BikNorton [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

My laptop's battery is nearly drained, but the lead (and my tablet and phone) are on the floor in just such a position that I'll have to turn a bit awkwardly to get any of them.

Also my glass is empty and the Diet Coke is in the fridge in a whole other fucking room.

Author:  BikNorton [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:35 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

And daytime telly is shit but I can't find anything on the Humax box, the dvd/bluray shelf or iPlayer that I want to watch.

Author:  BikNorton [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:36 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

And the internet's having an off day.

#fml

Author:  myp [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:49 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I didn't realise this was the whiny emo thread.

Author:  BikNorton [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:54 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

I got nar-knee narn problems, but they're all silly little whinges.

That's kind of the point of this thread isn't it?

Author:  TheVision [ Thu May 31, 2012 10:54 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Isn't that where the whole "1st world problems" thing came from?

Author:  Warhead [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 0:16 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

When I used to record stuff off the TV on my VCR, I could use VideoPlus+ to ensure the programme was recorded even if it was delayed for technical reasons or news flashes, and it only recorded a couple of minutes AFTER the end of the programme. My V+ box records 7 MINUTES after the end of the recorded programme and I have no idea if there's any built in intelligence to allow for programmes starting late.

Author:  Achilles [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:41 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5i1cJIwE7M

Always funny to read threads like this. I thought today I'd try to explain to my rich sister my circumstances, and I summed it up thus:

As long as I have enough food and able to be warm enough, I'd get through the winter. Assuming the Conservatives dont launch another attack on the poor before then.

Author:  Grim... [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:12 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

TheVision wrote:
Isn't that where the whole "1st world problems" thing came from?

What? No. They're problems that only people in the first world would think are problems.

For instance, sometimes I walk over the printer and find I've got another screen on my PC wanting me to confirm the print job, so I have to walk back >:(

Author:  Curiosity [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:14 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Warhead wrote:
When I used to record stuff off the TV on my VCR, I could use VideoPlus+ to ensure the programme was recorded even if it was delayed for technical reasons or news flashes, and it only recorded a couple of minutes AFTER the end of the programme. My V+ box records 7 MINUTES after the end of the recorded programme and I have no idea if there's any built in intelligence to allow for programmes starting late.


There is no such intelligence, not even on the TiVo box. Grrrrr.

Author:  Grim... [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:18 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

There is for live events that overrun.

Author:  ApplePieOfDestiny [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:32 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Grim... wrote:
There is for live events that overrun.

I don't think that's intelligence, I thought I read that all it does, if a programme is billed as live, is not stop recording on that tuner.

Author:  BikNorton [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:42 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Our Humax Freesat box gets BBC recordings second-perfect - I think there's flags in the spec for 'programme start' and 'programme end', but the other channels don't use them for bullshit reasons. And Channel 5 go out of their way to start programmes early.

Author:  Curiosity [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:11 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Grim... wrote:
There is for live events that overrun.


There isn't for shows following live events that overrun.

Author:  Warhead [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:20 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

Curiosity wrote:
Warhead wrote:
When I used to record stuff off the TV on my VCR, I could use VideoPlus+ to ensure the programme was recorded even if it was delayed for technical reasons or news flashes, and it only recorded a couple of minutes AFTER the end of the programme. My V+ box records 7 MINUTES after the end of the recorded programme and I have no idea if there's any built in intelligence to allow for programmes starting late.


There is no such intelligence, not even on the TiVo box. Grrrrr.

Well it's not fecking good enough. Someone should be sacked.

Author:  Warhead [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:24 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

On joining the M61 at J4 today, from the south, my TomTom said, 'Take the third exit towards Backslash.' It did it yesterday, too. How the feck does the lady in the little box think there's a place called Backslash?

Author:  Bobbyaro [ Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: 1st world problems

you sure it isn't 'Back Lane'

Page 1 of 38 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/