Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 1321 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 21:40 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 20018
What 1st world problems are afflicting you at the moment?

Personally, I have two.

1) the new hard disks I bought for my Readynas are nice enough, however the Readynas has shit SATA drivers and it can't manage to spin them down properly, resulting in an annoying click every few minutes from the thing. However! Drobo have released new firmware that allows 3TB drive in their units, so I thought I would just swap a couple of disks over, a few hours of resyncing each and no problem. 12 hours later and the Drobo is still showing 72 hours left to go on the rebuild, which i'll have to do all over again once I try and move the next disk, then i'll need to resync the Readynas after all that, which'll take another day. Bloody things.

2) my quidco cashback hasn't tracked for my recent Sky install. I've put in a claim but i'm not hopeful. That was £100 that was...

I know neither of those things matter in the great scheme of things, but i'm still a bit put out regardless.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 21:42 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 51695
Location: Nottingham
I can't quite afford a MacBook Pro right now.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 21:55 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8944
I'm taking cheap antibiotics while sitting at home fully paid, worrying it might make my twelve hour flight to Japan on Sunday slightly more uncomfortable than it would already be, and also how I'm going to get my posh headphones from work if I don't recover well enough to go in at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:05 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 65253
Location: Your Mum
A book I want isn't on Kindle.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:12 
User avatar
Lord Humongous

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 44315
Location: The erogenous zone
The new 27" iMacs are taking ages to be released and I'm allowed to buy one.

_________________
Flickr Behance Discogs

'Not without talent but dragged down by bass turgidity'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:20 
User avatar

Joined: 12th Apr, 2008
Posts: 13611
Location: Oxford
I had to buy some stuff to clean the crap off my iron with. Ironing's bad enough, but having to clean the dam thing? Bah.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:22 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 65253
Location: Your Mum
Ooh, I've got another - I've lost the remote for the aircon in the house, and it doesn't have on-unit controls (well, it has "power", but it's set to "warm") :(

Why the fuck would aircon even have a "warm" setting?

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:27 
User avatar
Full of plumptiousness

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 799
Location: Just left of perfection
In the past few weeks I've been to Dublin, Tel Aviv, Stockholm and Milan and I'm, um, a bit tired.

_________________
Malc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:31 
User avatar

Joined: 12th Apr, 2008
Posts: 13611
Location: Oxford
The water cooler at work has more pressure than my shower at home. Heck, the Manneken Pis has a more powerful flow than my shower. Somehow I put up with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:36 
User avatar

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14497
Kern wrote:
The water cooler at work has more pressure than my shower at home. Heck, the Manneken Pis has a more powerful flow than my shower. Somehow I put up with it.


A weak shower is a perfectly legitimate thing to be unhappy about. We're renting, and I turned down an otherwise ideal house because it had a pathetic shower. Absolutely vital.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:37 
User avatar

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14497
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:38 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 20018
Grim... wrote:
Ooh, I've got another - I've lost the remote for the aircon in the house, and it doesn't have on-unit controls (well, it has "power", but it's set to "warm") :(

Why the fuck would aircon even have a "warm" setting?


You've got a programmable remote I assume? Can you not just put the right database of codes on it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:38 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 20018
WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


That may have been part of the inspiration for this thread ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:39 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 47149
WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


I'm not greatly convinced that counts as a 'saga'. I'm going to have to relegate you to 'happenstance', or possibly even 'event'.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:40 
User avatar

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14497
Craster wrote:
WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


I'm not greatly convinced that counts as a 'saga'. I'm going to have to relegate you to 'happenstance', or possibly even 'event'.


But it's still a problem, right? Right? :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:41 
User avatar

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14497
Trooper wrote:
WTB wrote:
Oh, and I've already mentioned our bin saga this morning. Forgot to put the wheelie bin out and now we're stuck with a full bin for two weeks. :(


That may have been part of the inspiration for this thread ;)


Ha!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 22:42 
User avatar
baron of techno

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 24136
Location: fife
I'll grant an 'incident' but that's being generous.

Grim..., they have a heat mode because it's a heat pump. I use one for heating only (no need for cooling here).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 0:30 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14709
Location: Parts unknown
I have too many games to play.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 0:33 
User avatar
Skillmeister

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 24424
Location: Felelagedge Wedgebarge
It averages 340 Kelvin on here! It's sweltering!

_________________
Washing Machine: Fine. Kettle: Needs De-scaling. Shower: Brand new. Boiler: Fine.
Archimedes Hotdog Rhubarb Niner Zero Niner.
Oh Gurney, take me in your arms and finger me like your baliset you scarred rogue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 8:40 
User avatar
Part physicist, part WARLORD

Joined: 2nd Apr, 2008
Posts: 13421
Location: Chester, UK
It’s my first day without overtime in a week, I overestimated the traffic, arrived at work 40 minutes early, so now I’m sitting here not getting paid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 8:56 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18882
Location: shropshire, uk
One of my projects is now on contract, it is really really cool, but it can't go on my CV!

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:05 
User avatar
Noob as of 6/8/10

Joined: 6th Aug, 2010
Posts: 3123
Location: , Location, Location.
1. When I switch the output on my V+ box to HD, the channel guide pop-up stuff is quite a bit narrower on screen. Damn annoying.

2. My daughter bought me a new mobile phone about 6 months ago but I haven't swapped from my old one yet because a)there's nothing really wrong with it, it's just a bit out of day, and b) it's a right faff having to tell everyone my new number. I mean, I know I could transfer my old number to my new handset, but my old one was with O2 and the new one is with 3, and when I did this once before things just didn't work right.

_________________
'I just can't be arsed.'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:11 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18882
Location: shropshire, uk
Warhead wrote:
1. When I switch the output on my V+ box to HD, the channel guide pop-up stuff is quite a bit narrower on screen. Damn annoying.

2. My daughter bought me a new mobile phone about 6 months ago but I haven't swapped from my old one yet because a)there's nothing really wrong with it, it's just a bit out of day, and b) it's a right faff having to tell everyone my new number. I mean, I know I could transfer my old number to my new handset, but my old one was with O2 and the new one is with 3, and when I did this once before things just didn't work right.



Get new one unlocked and swap sims?

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:12 
User avatar
Lord Humongous

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 44315
Location: The erogenous zone
I have to cycle through my source inputs on my TV, I can't jump directly to what I want.

_________________
Flickr Behance Discogs

'Not without talent but dragged down by bass turgidity'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:16 
User avatar
Meh

Joined: 13th Apr, 2008
Posts: 1640
My network card has for no apparent reason stopped waking from sleep properly forcing me to disable and enable to get my internet connection working.

_________________
Turn your wounds into wisdom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:19 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14880
The teaspoons are all gone from the kitchen at work. Some yoghurt-eating cuntwit has hoarded them all I reckon. Had to use a tablespoon to make a brew >:(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:19 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 65253
Location: Your Mum
Trooper wrote:
Grim... wrote:
Ooh, I've got another - I've lost the remote for the aircon in the house, and it doesn't have on-unit controls (well, it has "power", but it's set to "warm") :(

Why the fuck would aircon even have a "warm" setting?

You've got a programmable remote I assume? Can you not just put the right database of codes on it?

I've not thought of that. Good call.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:25 
Excellent Member

Joined: 5th Dec, 2010
Posts: 3353
Spent the last 3 days moving data between various NAS

My wifes boss is a total cunt and trying to set up to hide is own screw ups. We work at the same place and having seen her upset I'm having some issues stopping myself kicking the shit out of him.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:26 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18882
Location: shropshire, uk
asfish wrote:
Spent the last 3 days moving data between various NAS

My wifes boss is a total cunt and trying to set up to hide is own screw ups. We work at the same place and having seen her upset I'm having some issues stopping myself kicking the shit out of him.


put super lax in his coffee :)

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:27 
Excellent Member

Joined: 5th Dec, 2010
Posts: 3353
One good thing is he works on another site.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:29 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18882
Location: shropshire, uk
I have upgraded Office and Visio to 2010. I can't find anything in Visio.....

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:30 
User avatar
Noob as of 6/8/10

Joined: 6th Aug, 2010
Posts: 3123
Location: , Location, Location.
KovacsC wrote:
Warhead wrote:
1. When I switch the output on my V+ box to HD, the channel guide pop-up stuff is quite a bit narrower on screen. Damn annoying.

2. My daughter bought me a new mobile phone about 6 months ago but I haven't swapped from my old one yet because a)there's nothing really wrong with it, it's just a bit out of day, and b) it's a right faff having to tell everyone my new number. I mean, I know I could transfer my old number to my new handset, but my old one was with O2 and the new one is with 3, and when I did this once before things just didn't work right.



Get new one unlocked and swap sims?

Did that when she first bought it for me and there were all kinds of irritating problems with stuff that subsequently didn't work properly and that drove me nuts. Luckily, there was a problem with the case so I got a replacement but decided not to unlock that one.

_________________
'I just can't be arsed.'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:16 
User avatar
Sleepyhead

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 26626
Location: Kidbrooke
Malabelm wrote:
It’s my first day without overtime in a week, I overestimated the traffic, arrived at work 40 minutes early, so now I’m sitting here not getting paid.


At least you're not working.

_________________
I've got a bad feeling about this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:33 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8944
My laptop's battery is nearly drained, but the lead (and my tablet and phone) are on the floor in just such a position that I'll have to turn a bit awkwardly to get any of them.

Also my glass is empty and the Diet Coke is in the fridge in a whole other fucking room.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:35 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8944
And daytime telly is shit but I can't find anything on the Humax box, the dvd/bluray shelf or iPlayer that I want to watch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:36 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8944
And the internet's having an off day.

#fml


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:49 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 51695
Location: Nottingham
I didn't realise this was the whiny emo thread.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:54 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8944
I got nar-knee narn problems, but they're all silly little whinges.

That's kind of the point of this thread isn't it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:54 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14709
Location: Parts unknown
Isn't that where the whole "1st world problems" thing came from?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 0:16 
User avatar
Noob as of 6/8/10

Joined: 6th Aug, 2010
Posts: 3123
Location: , Location, Location.
When I used to record stuff off the TV on my VCR, I could use VideoPlus+ to ensure the programme was recorded even if it was delayed for technical reasons or news flashes, and it only recorded a couple of minutes AFTER the end of the programme. My V+ box records 7 MINUTES after the end of the recorded programme and I have no idea if there's any built in intelligence to allow for programmes starting late.

_________________
'I just can't be arsed.'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:41 

Joined: 15th Nov, 2008
Posts: 484
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5i1cJIwE7M

Always funny to read threads like this. I thought today I'd try to explain to my rich sister my circumstances, and I summed it up thus:

As long as I have enough food and able to be warm enough, I'd get through the winter. Assuming the Conservatives dont launch another attack on the poor before then.

_________________
Bye.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:12 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 65253
Location: Your Mum
TheVision wrote:
Isn't that where the whole "1st world problems" thing came from?

What? No. They're problems that only people in the first world would think are problems.

For instance, sometimes I walk over the printer and find I've got another screen on my PC wanting me to confirm the print job, so I have to walk back >:(

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:14 
User avatar
Sleepyhead

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 26626
Location: Kidbrooke
Warhead wrote:
When I used to record stuff off the TV on my VCR, I could use VideoPlus+ to ensure the programme was recorded even if it was delayed for technical reasons or news flashes, and it only recorded a couple of minutes AFTER the end of the programme. My V+ box records 7 MINUTES after the end of the recorded programme and I have no idea if there's any built in intelligence to allow for programmes starting late.


There is no such intelligence, not even on the TiVo box. Grrrrr.

_________________
I've got a bad feeling about this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:18 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 65253
Location: Your Mum
There is for live events that overrun.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:32 
Filthy Junkie Bitch

Joined: 17th Dec, 2008
Posts: 8145
Grim... wrote:
There is for live events that overrun.

I don't think that's intelligence, I thought I read that all it does, if a programme is billed as live, is not stop recording on that tuner.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 14:42 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8944
Our Humax Freesat box gets BBC recordings second-perfect - I think there's flags in the spec for 'programme start' and 'programme end', but the other channels don't use them for bullshit reasons. And Channel 5 go out of their way to start programmes early.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:11 
User avatar
Sleepyhead

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 26626
Location: Kidbrooke
Grim... wrote:
There is for live events that overrun.


There isn't for shows following live events that overrun.

_________________
I've got a bad feeling about this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:20 
User avatar
Noob as of 6/8/10

Joined: 6th Aug, 2010
Posts: 3123
Location: , Location, Location.
Curiosity wrote:
Warhead wrote:
When I used to record stuff off the TV on my VCR, I could use VideoPlus+ to ensure the programme was recorded even if it was delayed for technical reasons or news flashes, and it only recorded a couple of minutes AFTER the end of the programme. My V+ box records 7 MINUTES after the end of the recorded programme and I have no idea if there's any built in intelligence to allow for programmes starting late.


There is no such intelligence, not even on the TiVo box. Grrrrr.

Well it's not fecking good enough. Someone should be sacked.

_________________
'I just can't be arsed.'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:24 
User avatar
Noob as of 6/8/10

Joined: 6th Aug, 2010
Posts: 3123
Location: , Location, Location.
On joining the M61 at J4 today, from the south, my TomTom said, 'Take the third exit towards Backslash.' It did it yesterday, too. How the feck does the lady in the little box think there's a place called Backslash?

_________________
'I just can't be arsed.'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1st world problems
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 15:33 
User avatar
Ticket to Ride World Champion

Joined: 18th Apr, 2008
Posts: 11606
you sure it isn't 'Back Lane'

_________________
No, it was a giant robot castle!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 1321 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kern, markg, Squirt, TheVision, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.