Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 13:51 
User avatar
Honey Boo Boo

Joined: 28th Mar, 2008
Posts: 12328
Location: Tronna, Canandada
I have the standard Sky Broadband router, Netgear DG834GT.

While it seems to like my MacBook Pro and 360 just fine, it doesn't like the iPhone or iBook very much.

Basically, unless the connection is being used constantly or very frequently, it stops letting them access the internet. The device is still connected to the router, but it is unable to send or receive data from the internet. Going into the device's own settings and turning Wifi off and then back on immediately solves the problem, and it immediately regains access to the internet like nothing was wrong.

I'm having to assume all my settings (IP address, DNS, subnet) are fine as it certainly works fine when it wants to, but if I take too long reading a website or writing a post on either of the two devices then I often find the connection's gone to 'sleep'. The Macbook, where I've just written all this, hasn't had this problem.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:14 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 23rd Jun, 2010
Posts: 2282
I have my PC and laptop running wireless off the same (edit: that exact one) router, it does this to me at random as well on the laptop, sometimes I get a same IP detected message thrown up but mostly I have to just use the fix internet connection tool.

_________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/learnin_curve/
Children's BBC 1986: Phillip Schofield sings Ulysses 31!
crazy amazing riot video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wpEGRW7mSU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:19 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 67927
Location: Your Mum
When Mrs Grim...'s iPhone and iPad kept disconnecting, I plugged them into iTunes and updated them, and they were happy again.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:26 
User avatar
Honey Boo Boo

Joined: 28th Mar, 2008
Posts: 12328
Location: Tronna, Canandada
Decca wrote:
I have my PC and laptop running wireless off the same (edit: that exact one) router, it does this to me at random as well on the laptop, sometimes I get a same IP detected message thrown up but mostly I have to just use the fix internet connection tool.


I have two routers, trying to have some connect to one and some to the other (though the second router then connects to the first to get at teh intarwebs) didn't help.

Grim... wrote:
When Mrs Grim...'s iPhone and iPad kept disconnecting, I plugged them into iTunes and updated them, and they were happy again.


Everything is up to date :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:31 
User avatar
baron of techno

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 24136
Location: fife
I think I had the same problem on my netbook, messed with one of the parameters on the router (same model) - the 80211b/g/both thing fixed it I think, but then I changed the wifi board in the laptop to one that works with Mac OS X and that was happy with it on the normal setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:38 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 6th Apr, 2010
Posts: 271
Location: Lancs
Check that everything is getting an individual IP address. Sometimes Mrs Burrrrrrrrrrrrrt's Black berry or netbook will be assigned an IP address that is already in use. Worst case is you'll have to assign manual IP addresses to some devices.

_________________
Aserejè ja de jè de jebe tu de jebere seibiunouva,
Majavi an de bugui an de buididipi.

The Crumplezone My Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:42 
Filthy Junkie Bitch

Joined: 17th Dec, 2008
Posts: 8283
Mr Burrrrt wrote:
Check that everything is getting an individual IP address. Sometimes Mrs Burrrrrrrrrrrrrt's Black berry or netbook will be assigned an IP address that is already in use. Worst case is you'll have to assign manual IP addresses to some devices.

The tarts netbook does this also. In fact, the ip clash is always with my phone. But as it isn't my laptop and my phone is unaffected, I can't be arsed resolving it other than powering off the router.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:42 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36252
Depending on the level of control you have on your router, you reserve a DHCP address by mac address. The router will always give the same address out to a specific device, but only that one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:43 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 67927
Location: Your Mum
You can do that with the Sky router.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 14:52 
User avatar
Honey Boo Boo

Joined: 28th Mar, 2008
Posts: 12328
Location: Tronna, Canandada
Everything already has a manual IP address... I set them up myself when I moved in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:09 
User avatar
Can you dig it?

Joined: 5th Apr, 2008
Posts: 3723
My router does a similar thing, but it only does it sometimes.

It's a shit telco branded one though. I'm not sure if I can be bothered to do anything other than turn it off and on again, and swear a little bit.

_________________
rumours about the high quality of the butter reached Yerevan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 20:47 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46160
Location: Cheshire
Nailed the issueof my shonky WiFi by getting somenpowerline things that rebroadcast

The one with the pointy bits does the lights and the one it is connected tondoes the internet so now I don't have it to reset a password.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid wifi problem
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 21:48 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 25th Jul, 2010
Posts: 10960
I fixed my shite WiFi by phoning Sky and having them send me a new upgraded router. I continue to be impressed with their service; I phoned and the support guy ran some remote tests (basically just pulling the router logs and looking at them I suspect) then admitted that as I suspected the router was just old and crap and they'd send me out a new one. Ten minutes on the phone and then like 16 hours later I've got a new router arriving at my house. Couldn't really ask for more.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: devilman, Kern, KovacsC, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.