Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 85 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:20 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
After extensive researchI do believe the following people own Company of Heroes (CoH) or one of it's expandalones (they're all compatible online, fyi, so any will do. All 3 is best):

ME
'Nervous' NervousPete
Mr Dave
Ramsea
JohnCoffey
KovacsC (possibly?)
Grim...
Sheepeh
Mr Kissyfur
edit: markg appears to have snaffled the THQ box, netting him all 3.

Is this correct? Are there any more of you out there? Do you have it installed and working? WOULD YOU LIKE TO PLAY?!

Either comp stomping, head-to-head, mano a mano, or even team based warfare? Hmm?

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:36 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 16744
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
Team based stuff would be most interesting - I'm not really good enough on my own.

(Oh, and Sheepeh has not posted here for many months, for various reasons)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:36 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 20007
Location: shropshire, uk
I own it

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:37 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Hey I have one of these. Opposing fronts it seems. Got it with my Asus.

I shall install it, if I can find the actual disc lol.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:38 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
KovacsC wrote:
I own it


Well it ownz joo. So ner. :p

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:38 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
Mr Dave wrote:
(Oh, and Sheepeh has not posted here for many months, for various reasons)


I thought he was just quite. Ach well.

KovacsC wrote:
I own it


But will you own me?

ho ho ho.
:hat:

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:39 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 20007
Location: shropshire, uk
yes ... lol

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:41 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
OK some assistance is reqd. I have this on DVD. So can I add it to Steam or something?

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:42 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Oh, and also
Mr Dave wrote:
Team based stuff would be most interesting - I'm not really good enough on my own.


:this:

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:51 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
JohnCoffey wrote:
OK some assistance is reqd. I have this on DVD. So can I add it to Steam or something?


Do you need to add it to Steam? You can add a shortcut in steam to launch it (games> add a non-steam game), but there's no difference between the different digital distributions of the game e.g., D2D, steam, retail. Just install the DVD version and it'll work.

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 0:53 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Pod wrote:
JohnCoffey wrote:
OK some assistance is reqd. I have this on DVD. So can I add it to Steam or something?


Do you need to add it to Steam? You can add a shortcut in steam to launch it (games> add a non-steam game), but there's no difference between the different digital distributions of the game e.g., D2D, steam, retail.


OK so how to we all meet up and that?

Remember, when it comes to online gaming I am a complete chuffing thicko. I mean, we're talking Terry Fuckwit proportions here.

OK patching for online use noo.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:04 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 7767
Location: Cardiff
Once again, I am well up for this. My Relic Online name is NervousPete, can't remember if it's one word or two. If however you find me through Steam, I'm dreaming_lad.

But I guess we'll be matching up through Relic Online. Anyway, Pod will ahve instructions, he'll tell us what's what! :)

_________________
"Peter you've lost the NEWS!"

Bored? Why not look at some pretty pictures on my photography blog? Here: http://petetakespictures.com

Come & See My Flickery Pics Here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nervouspete/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:04 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 7767
Location: Cardiff
JohnCoffey wrote:
OK patching for online use noo.


See you in a few years! :D :facepalm:

_________________
"Peter you've lost the NEWS!"

Bored? Why not look at some pretty pictures on my photography blog? Here: http://petetakespictures.com

Come & See My Flickery Pics Here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nervouspete/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:06 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
You're not bloody wrong Peter !!

Ten minutes I have been sitting here and I have 6.7 of 137mb.

:'(

And I looked for dreaming_lad but I couldnae find you.

Sees?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:08 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 7767
Location: Cardiff
JohnCoffey wrote:
You're not bloody wrong Peter !!

Ten minutes I have been sitting here and I have 6.7 of 137mb.

:'(

And I looked for dreaming_lad but I couldnae find you.


I am on Steam, but yeah - Relic Online that different name, Nervous Pete. (Maybe one word.) I ended up downloading from the website, took a while but was way faster. Pod's auto-download was very fast, curiously.

I fear the best way is to download 'em all in turn off a website and then install 'em all in turn. Do you just have CoH or the full run?

_________________
"Peter you've lost the NEWS!"

Bored? Why not look at some pretty pictures on my photography blog? Here: http://petetakespictures.com

Come & See My Flickery Pics Here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nervouspete/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:10 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 7767
Location: Cardiff
Are you Zom... etc? Cos if so you've just added me. :)

_________________
"Peter you've lost the NEWS!"

Bored? Why not look at some pretty pictures on my photography blog? Here: http://petetakespictures.com

Come & See My Flickery Pics Here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nervouspete/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:10 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Awhaw ! found you.

I only have opposing fronts. I got it free with my motherboard.

And yes. Ph33r my l33t yousirname !

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:18 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 16744
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
I'm hoping steam has automatically updated everything CoHwise. Live has spoiled me somewhat with its ease of updating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:20 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
20mb installed. God their download server raps in 'C'.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:31 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
FYI: The auto patcher is all p2p. So make sure your firewall is opened up and all that jazz. The last patch I had downloaded very quickly.

Also: Once we have gathered interesed, we'll either set some times, or just add to friends list and od it that way. Depends on the amount of people! :)

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:41 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Made a cup of tea.. 52mb.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:23 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54646
Location: Liberty City
I'm gutted I can't join in. All this patching sounds riveting.

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:42 
User avatar
INFINITE POWAH

Joined: 1st Apr, 2008
Posts: 30492
I do not own it - I own the previous game, S:HOWW2, and I suspect CoH won't work on my rig.

_________________
http://www.thehomeofawesome.com/
Eagles soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:43 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 67926
Location: Your Mum
Mr Dave wrote:
I'm hoping steam has automatically updated everything CoHwise. Live has spoiled me somewhat with its ease of updating.

I was thinking the other day that Live actually does a shit job of patching. Why doesn't it periodically check for updates on all my games and patch them there and then, rather than waiting for me to put the disk in?

Anyway, yes, CoH. I'd like to play, but the chances of me getting the time to this year are slim.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:46 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54646
Location: Liberty City
Grim... wrote:
Why doesn't it periodically check for updates on all my games and patch them there and then, rather than waiting for me to put the disk in?

HDD space, I'd wager. That's why it only keeps the patches for the last ten games in the cache. If you put in a disc of a game you haven't played in ages, you need to download the latest update again.

I suppose it's to stop Burnout Paradise syndrome, ending up with tonnes of update files on your hard disk.

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:45 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
Mr Kissyfur wrote:
I do not own it - I own the previous game, S:HOWW2, and I suspect CoH won't work on my rig.


S:HOWW2, whilst an excellent game, is made by a completely different company! :)

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:49 
User avatar
INFINITE POWAH

Joined: 1st Apr, 2008
Posts: 30492
Pod wrote:
Mr Kissyfur wrote:
I do not own it - I own the previous game, S:HOWW2, and I suspect CoH won't work on my rig.


S:HOWW2, whilst an excellent game, is made by a completely different company! :)

Heh - the review I read of CoH many moons ago said it was a sequel. Silly games reviewers.

_________________
http://www.thehomeofawesome.com/
Eagles soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:55 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
Mr Kissyfur wrote:
Pod wrote:
Mr Kissyfur wrote:
I do not own it - I own the previous game, S:HOWW2, and I suspect CoH won't work on my rig.


S:HOWW2, whilst an excellent game, is made by a completely different company! :)

Heh - the review I read of CoH many moons ago said it was a sequel. Silly games reviewers.


That's Faces of War and Men of somethingorother you're thining of.

Though oddly the latest CoH expansion (Tales of Valor (ToV)) allows the "direct control" thing which the soldiers series actually ditched in its latest iteration :'(


edit: S:HOWW2 : 3rd edition is called "[url="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Men_of_War"]Men of War[/url]", and according to that wiki article still retains the direct control business. I was under the impression they removed it. (I've yet to play MOW, but played FOW and S:HOWW2.)


ps: I love these names/abbreviations.

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:52 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Something became corrupt. Shall try again later, but at last call it said I may have to reinstall.

I think the second download was just buggered.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:57 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
10104 - Patching encountered unexpected installed data.

Happens when: You have mods installed.
Simplest workaround: Reinstall COH, patch again.

Well, I don't have any mods installed but I do have Daemon installed.

So I guess I'm fucked then. Here we go again. Protection FTL.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 13:07 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 16744
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
Thankfully. Steam does appear to have patched it ti 2.601, which does appear to be the latest.
Getting it to figure out I had all the expansions installed was a bit more of a pain, mind.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 13:07 
User avatar
That Rev Chap

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 4924
Location: Kent
I found the box for it the other day, but the CD wasn't in it. And then I managed to put the box in a throwing out pile so haven't even got that any more so I can use the serial numbers.
:facepalm:

_________________
InvertY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 13:30 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 7767
Location: Cardiff
The Rev Owen wrote:
I found the box for it the other day, but the CD wasn't in it. And then I managed to put the box in a throwing out pile so haven't even got that any more so I can use the serial numbers.
:facepalm:


:( Bad luck.

I think a couple of people might be buying that THQ Ultimate pack thing that includes CoH etc, having already got it. Maybe one of them can help you?

_________________
"Peter you've lost the NEWS!"

Bored? Why not look at some pretty pictures on my photography blog? Here: http://petetakespictures.com

Come & See My Flickery Pics Here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nervouspete/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 13:31 
User avatar
That Rev Chap

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 4924
Location: Kent
NervousPete wrote:
I think a couple of people might be buying that THQ Ultimate pack thing that includes CoH etc, having already got it. Maybe one of them can help you?


Honestly, I never play PC games any more, anyway, so it would probably be pointless.

Hell, I barely play console games since my net connection went to shit and I got my iPhone.

_________________
InvertY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 13:32 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 16744
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
Sadly, no. Only the valve packs can be split, else I'd have copys of DoW2, CoH & CoH:OF available.

(To Bolshy Pete, obviously)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 14:06 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Oklies I looked into it more and found this -

http://support.thq.com/thq/consumer/kbd ... p?kbid=354

Of which this bit I found interesting

Quote:
If you are still having issues, we suggest uninstalling the game, obtaining and running a registry cleaning program (such as http://www.ccleaner.com), defragging the PC, then reinstalling OF again. Before installing, be sure to run a clean boot process.

Remove ANY emulation software completely: Alcohol, DaemonWare, Roxio. Clean the registry, run clean boot, and patch.

Update the driver (firmware) for your disc drive.

Finally, move any custom files (mods, custom maps, training files, etc) to another folder.


As if I am going to do that. And as if I am going to fuck around with my drive's firmware.

A-holes.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:01 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
Mr Dave wrote:
Sadly, no. Only the valve packs can be split, else I'd have copys of DoW2, CoH & CoH:OF available.

(To Bolshy Pete, obviously)



I've yet to run my Steam copy, but with other Steam games that have a CD key you can "view" that key, so as long as you don't enter it ni the main game, it's possible you could gift it to someone else?


(this is as long as you don't already have a Steam copy, that is). I'll give someone my D2D cd-keys.

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:02 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
JohnCoffey wrote:
Oklies I looked into it more and found this -

http://support.thq.com/thq/consumer/kbd ... p?kbid=354

Of which this bit I found interesting

Quote:
If you are still having issues, we suggest uninstalling the game, obtaining and running a registry cleaning program (such as http://www.ccleaner.com), defragging the PC, then reinstalling OF again. Before installing, be sure to run a clean boot process.

Remove ANY emulation software completely: Alcohol, DaemonWare, Roxio. Clean the registry, run clean boot, and patch.

Update the driver (firmware) for your disc drive.

Finally, move any custom files (mods, custom maps, training files, etc) to another folder.


As if I am going to do that. And as if I am going to fuck around with my drive's firmware.

A-holes.


Those are just the standard "tech help" answers. I suspect that Deamon Tools will be the problem? I currently don't have it installed on my home PC so I haven't had a problem with it. Unlucky :(

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:04 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Bloody hell !

So I uninstalled it and put the disc in the other dvd drive (after giving it a ruddy good clean, even though it was new).

Reinstalled.

Loaded the game.

A patch is available and you must install it to play online.

I was expecting this. 127.7mb. So I install that one (which went on before) and rebooted the game as it said to.

A patch is available and you must install it to play online.

I was expecting this one, too. This is the one that failed last time on account of a corrupt file. So I installed it. All 114mb.

It worked !! Overjoyed I rebooted the game.

A patch is available and you must install it to play online.

FFS. This time it was 7mb. Must be the last one because it's so small !!! Installed it, rebooted game.

A patch is available and you must install it to play online.

40mb. Fuckin' A man COME THE FUCK ON.

Now this had to be the last one right? Installed it, rebooted the game.

A patch is available and you must install it to play online.

70mb. I am about to reboot the game now. But, I can feel a rant of GTAIV proportions coming. this is fucking ridiculous.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:04 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
And if I have to listen to this god damn fucking bastard fucking theme song any fucking longer I am going to cut my fucking throat.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:07 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
I..I... I just don't believe it. My bollocks are tingling I'm so fucking angry.

:(

EDIT. I hit cancel and now it's not coming up again.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:07 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 16744
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
I'm so glad I have the steam version. The final patch is 2.601, and there are a fair few to get there.

Why they haven't made a unified patch, I really don't know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:07 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54646
Location: Liberty City
You could've bought a 360 in this time, John.

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:08 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 67926
Location: Your Mum
Try this method of installing the patches.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:13 
User avatar
MR EXCELLENT FACE

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 2568
Grim... wrote:


Bastard :)


Seriously though Coffey, why didn't you just download a single patche? :P
You heard everyone else complaining and that's how they solved it!

_________________
This man is bound by law to clear the snow away


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:14 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 16744
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
Gee, thanks Grim...

I just managed to flob over the entire room because of that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:18 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
Grim... wrote:


Oooo ya fuggerruggerfugger.

Well I decided to take a break from this bullshat as it's hogging my fucking PC and I can't get anything done. So I close the game and remove the DVD.

The theme song was still fucking playing >:(

Oh and also just so yous all know. This isn't patching, it's basically replacing the entire fucking game.

What a crock of crap.

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:21 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 7767
Location: Cardiff
JohnCoffey wrote:
I..I... I just don't believe it. My bollocks are tingling I'm so fucking angry.


*Sympathy Weep :'( *

Here's my CoH patching experience from a post ages back:

Quote:
Ta, I may use one in future. What's a good average mbps speed for wireless? I installed my old wireless card after dithering, temps seem okay, but the signal ranges from 5.0mbps to 11.0mbps. Wondering if its the age of the card.

Anyway.

Been playing Company of Heroes, great fun, but the patching system is the biggest piece of shit I have ever seen in a game. Fire up autopatcher - not only does it download at a 56k speed but it actually slows down the rest of the computer to do it. Downloaded first patch of 135mb after two hours and do the auto-apply. Patch corrupt. It's also corrupted the game, so I have to uninstall and reinstall. Try again, same thing. Go to website for remote downloads and to see how many patches there are to get CoH: Opposing Fronts to the latest version.

EIGHT PATCHES.

Company of Heroes 2.100 - 2.103
Company of Heroes 2.101 - 2.201
Company of Heroes 2.102 - 2.201
Company of Heroes 2.103 - 2.201
Company of Heroes 2.201 - 2.202
Company of Heroes 2.202 - 2.300
Company of Heroes 2.300 - 2.301
Company of Heroes 2.301 - 2.400
Company of Heroes 2.400 - 2.500

I have to download EIGHT PATCHES. Each anything between 20mb and 200mb, and apply each one in turn. Frankly, this is shit. Think I'll stay offline for CoH until I get Windows 7, and even then it'll be a gritted teeth affair. Cue obvious console gamer jokes about PC Gaming. Etc. (It's the price we pay, at least we get mods, though.)


Anyway, I finally did it, and since Company of Heroes is one of the greatest games ever it was... *choke* ... worth it. BUT STILL >:(

_________________
"Peter you've lost the NEWS!"

Bored? Why not look at some pretty pictures on my photography blog? Here: http://petetakespictures.com

Come & See My Flickery Pics Here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nervouspete/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:23 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54646
Location: Liberty City
Shall I change the thread title to 'Company of Woes'?

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Company of Heroes
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 16:24 
User avatar
Esoteric

Joined: 12th Dec, 2008
Posts: 11611
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist...
I'll try and find out if I can patch it some more later. Right now I want to look through about ten coverdiscs in the vague hope I can find a video of Fallout 3 that I am sure I had where they were showing the levels being wire frame constructed. It's been doing my head in for months, so I have to do that right away.

I'm sure I wasn't dreaming :S

MYP. YES YES !! :D

_________________
I reject your context and reality, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 85 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: devilman, Kern, KovacsC, Majestic-12 [Bot], Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.