Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:24 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
TheVision wrote:
I use one of these on my PC and it is excellent. I got mine off ebay a while ago and I'm sure it only cost my 6 or 7 quid. Highly recommended.

Seconded. I bought two on Praisebot's recommendation


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:20 
User avatar
Comfortably Dumb

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11518
Location: Sunny Stoke
Kern wrote:
Sir Taxalot wrote:
What controllers are you all using?

I'm tempted to get a Pi for pissing about with...


At the moment I'm just using these cheap generic SNESalike ones. Fine for SNES and NES games, and once I remember which buttons line up with A, B & C, acceptable enough for the Sega systems.

Although I've got some N64 roms to load in, I think these controllers have too few buttons to actually get anywhere past the demo screen.


Retrospex do a N64-style USB controller that might be useful with those.

_________________
Consolemad | Under Logic
Curse, the day is long
Realise you don't belong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 13:20 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 12876
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
I've got two of the 8bitdo controllers that are designed for use with the Switch - they work perfectly, and are really good.

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 16:12 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Being able to play Alien Breed '92 again is very good. Looking forward bashing through it. Some amiga games don't work for no apparent reason, but hey ho.

Great thing about Chaos Engine is the AI npc, I can give Big One a controller and she thinks we are playing together

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 19:31 
User avatar
Participant in dramatic games

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3929
Location: United Provinces
yup.. 8 bit do.. ftw!

_________________
XBL: Romanista WiiU: Romanista77 Gamecenter: Romanista345 3DS 0318 8943 6467
Steam: Romanista345 PSN: Romanista345 Switch: 5098 6135 1325

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 22:22 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
BAM! Take that!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 22:24 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54718
Location: Liberty City
Ice cream

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 22:24 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Get Ready

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 22:31 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Not gonna walk that one off.

What a game it is. Beautiful. It's quick, tricky and you can be on the wrong end of a beating very quickly.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 22:35 
User avatar

Joined: 12th Apr, 2008
Posts: 15356
Location: Oxford
Awesome.

2 player or against the machine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 22:42 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Machine, presently. MrsA, soon. Although I dunno if introducing her to Speedball 2 is a good idea.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 23:46 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 15957
Location: Parts unknown
You need to sort out that aspect ratio before you invite anyone else to play with you. It's giving me the chills!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 0:47 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54718
Location: Liberty City
TheVision wrote:
You need to sort out that aspect ratio before you invite anyone else to play with you. It's giving me the chills!

It's widescreen so better

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 0:57 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 67977
Location: Your Mum
There was an Xbox game called Death Throw (maybe) that was a bit like Speedball 2. I liked it a lot.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:49 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Lonewolves wrote:
TheVision wrote:
You need to sort out that aspect ratio before you invite anyone else to play with you. It's giving me the chills!

It's widescreen so better


I'm going to use all of the telly I paid for!

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:51 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
MaliA wrote:
Lonewolves wrote:
TheVision wrote:
You need to sort out that aspect ratio before you invite anyone else to play with you. It's giving me the chills!

It's widescreen so better


I'm going to use all of the telly I paid for!

You should crop the top off the image then.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:21 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3538
TheVision wrote:
I use one of these on my PC and it is excellent. I got mine off ebay a while ago and I'm sure it only cost my 6 or 7 quid. Highly recommended.


I'm not a fan of 6 face buttons (i suppose i have a slow thumb), but this one has an excellent reputation for anyone with shitty thumbs like me:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Buffalo-Classi ... B002B9XB0E

I do use the Wii Classic Controler with an adapter, but the shoulder buttons get ultra sensitive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:38 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
DavPaz wrote:
MaliA wrote:
Lonewolves wrote:
TheVision wrote:
You need to sort out that aspect ratio before you invite anyone else to play with you. It's giving me the chills!

It's widescreen so better


I'm going to use all of the telly I paid for!

You should crop the top off the image then.


That's the end of the telly

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 17:56 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Supremacy on the Amiga is a brutal resource management game. It took over 2 hours to vanquish the easy level opponent.

Lotus 2 seems rock hard. I cannot beat level one.

Desert Strike has held up well.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:05 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 67977
Location: Your Mum
BQQAEZ, cheat fans.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:15 
User avatar

Joined: 12th Apr, 2008
Posts: 15356
Location: Oxford
MaliA wrote:
Desert Strike has held up well.


Still topical.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:19 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
Kern wrote:
MaliA wrote:
Desert Strike has held up well.


Still tropical.


Nah that was the sequel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:19 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 15957
Location: Parts unknown
Now there's a game I haven't thought about for ages. I might have to have a go this evening.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:34 
User avatar
Comfortably Dumb

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11518
Location: Sunny Stoke
MaliA wrote:
Supremacy on the Amiga is a brutal resource management game. It took over 2 hours to vanquish the easy level opponent.


About the only thing I remember from Supremacy was the sound when you got a message, which I still have set as my 'new mail' notification in Postbox.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Consolemad | Under Logic
Curse, the day is long
Realise you don't belong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:35 
User avatar
Can't re-member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 54718
Location: Liberty City
It's always the fog level in Lotus 2 that does for me.

_________________
I am currently under construction.
Thank you for your patience.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 18:36 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Lonewolves wrote:
It's always the fog level in Lotus 2 that does for me.


Look at Mr Level 5 over here.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:06 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3538
Kern wrote:
MaliA wrote:
Desert Strike has held up well.


Still topical.


The explosions were the most awe-inducing at the time, but i remember the levels being quite long with the most difficult parts at the end. Don't know if i would be into that thing of repeating everything all over again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 17:01 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
DP, many apologies if you already covered this upthread, but I'm thinking I might make a megabox for my brother, featuring a heady combination of Amiga games plus classics from the SNES and Megadrive, wotever else I can find.

However, if I follow your amiga instructions, does my megabox have to be Amiga-only?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 17:11 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
Certainly not. The Retropie interface does dozens of systems. Popular consoles are much simpler to do than Amiga stuff. I reckon I've covered that upthread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 17:12 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
DavPaz wrote:
Certainly not. The Retropie interface does dozens of systems. Popular consoles are much simpler to do than Amiga stuff. I reckon I've covered that upthread.


perfect, thank you very much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 15:28 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
Niiiiice


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 18:03 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3538
Image

:luv: :luv: :luv: :luv: :luv: :luv: :luv:

Does anyone knows how to turn this into a fleshlight? (i'm asking for a friend)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 18:37 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 32524
Findus Fop wrote:

no spectrum no fuckin' sale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2018 22:45 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 12876
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Guy's working on a Spectrum one based on a +3, he showed it off on a Speccy facebook group earlier this week.

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 11:44 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
I took a disk image of my pie, put it on a second card and gave it to someone. I tried a few games on their pie and all was fine.

My Sensi Soccer works, but theirs does not. It just shows the hand holding disk amiga screen.

Any ideas?

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 11:49 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
Is the disk image the same size?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 11:52 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
Yes. I tested 4 or 5 games and all good

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 20:45 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
Brace yourselves, idiot coming through.

I have embarked on this. I've got as far as getting the Retropie image onto the pi.

However, when I tried to add the Amiberry package I did so without it being connected to the internet.

It did a bunch of stuff, ran a load of script, and now I don't know if I can just try and repeat the process with it connected to the internet this time, or if I need to conduct some remedial work first (I'm imagining I've basically fucked the foundations before I start building the house.)

Is there any way to undo what I'd done with the Amiberry snafu, or is it unlikely to actually matter one jot and I should just manfully tussle with the machine and find out myself because that's we did before the internet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 20:57 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
It's probably just not been able to update itself. It can do that later. Crack on!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 20:58 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
MaliA wrote:
Yes. I tested 4 or 5 games and all good

I honestly don't know why the copied image wouldn't work identically.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 21:19 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
DavPaz wrote:
It's probably just not been able to update itself. It can do that later. Crack on!


I've cracked on! And it seemed to work!

However, I'm now struggling to locate the Amiga Forever Essentials on my phone in my Windows browser. Watch this space.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 21:23 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
Findus Fop wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
It's probably just not been able to update itself. It can do that later. Crack on!


I've cracked on! And it seemed to work!

However, I'm now struggling to locate the Amiga Forever Essentials on my phone in my Windows browser. Watch this space.


Hold on, I hadn't bothered actually running AFE on my phone, had just blindly installed it then went rummaging in explorer for the files. Have run it now and all has become clear (he hopes).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 21:58 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 46224
Location: Cheshire
DavPaz wrote:
MaliA wrote:
Yes. I tested 4 or 5 games and all good

I honestly don't know why the copied image wouldn't work identically.


Me, neither. Oh well. It is an odd thing. I will offer to reimage it.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 13:16 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
Exciting updates!

I spent the evening turning the house upside down looking for thumb drives. Once upon a time we were swimming in thumb drives. Couldn't move for thumb drives. Where did they go? My son can't have eaten all of them. He must be shitting gigabytes.

I ended up borrowing a thumb drive from work.

Then I managed to transfer the kickstart roms to the bios folder.

The Amiga roms are on the downloadatron - I downloaded all, then went through the process of identifying the games that were worth playing/would be remembered by my brother, for actual inclusion on the retropie. Don't want him wading through shit for shit's sake.

Question: where there are two entries for an lha(sic?), do I need to include both? Or can I afford to pick and choose?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 14:04 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
Do you mean that there are multiple lha files for each game?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 14:05 
User avatar
Prince of Fops

Joined: 14th May, 2009
Posts: 3461
Yes! I will try and grab a screenshot when I'm home, but there might multiple lha files for Crazy Cars 3 or something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 14:16 
User avatar
Unpossible!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 36321
Might be disk images. Some were supremely tricky to get onto whdload (and some still haven't been) so a lot of different tricks have been used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:01 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 32524
Might gift a RetroPie setup to my nephews for Christmas. Can anyone point me to a curated ROM list? I'm thinking it might be better to start with a few dozen classics than a thousand ROMs of questionable usefulness. The latter might overwhelm/bore them. If not, can anyone point me at a big ROMset, and I'll curate a few choices myself? They got a SNES mini last year and have really enjoyed it, so I'm not barking at the moon here.

Any requirements I should be aware of other than the obvious? I was thinking of the 8bitdo SNES-style pads. The ones with analogue sticks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:23 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 15957
Location: Parts unknown
Is it just SNES Roms that you want or do you want a load of other stuff too?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: RetroPie
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:25 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 32524
TheVision wrote:
Is it just SNES Roms that you want or do you want a load of other stuff too?

Oh, not at all, other stuff is a given. For some value of "stuff". Dunno how interested they'd be in, say, Atari 2600.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: devilman, Kern, KovacsC, Pod People, The Greys, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.