Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:11

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 90 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:32 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
Probably because the current one is working fine, for a given value of "working".

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:17 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13391
Location: Parts unknown
What's the problem with it then? I must say, so far, I'm quite impressed with mine. I haven't tested the range down the garden yet but it covers the whole house adequately.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:19 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
It falls off the Internet about twice a day, and gets worse and worse about connecting until it needs to be reset once a month, losing my port forwarding settings, the dedicated IP address for MAC addresses, wifi settings, etc.

Note that I have one of the old ones.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:20 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18001
Location: shropshire, uk
When is the 12 months contact up?

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:21 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
Probably about a year ago. Don't underestimate how lazy I am, though.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:22 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18001
Location: shropshire, uk
If out of contract, renegotiate your contract.. will mean new shiny hardware.

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:26 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
I now use the superhub in modem mode only. Still drops off the Internet weekly, but less of a hassle when resets are needed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:29 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
Yeah, I'm probably going to grab a better router and go that way.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:07 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13391
Location: Parts unknown
DavPaz wrote:
I now use the superhub in modem mode only. Still drops off the Internet weekly, but less of a hassle when resets are needed


With that mode, don't you lose a port on the back? All mine are full. I have my PC, Xbox, PS3 and Xbox 360 plugged into it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:09 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
You lose all of them except for the yellow one, I think. Which would make sense, as you've told it not to be a router any more.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:17 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
Indeed. Single cable to a nice gigabit router with 5 ports and then on throughout the house to various mini switches.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:30 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
We had a network topography thread. Where did that go?

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:35 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
This one?

viewtopic.php?p=571714


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 11:36 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13391
Location: Parts unknown
Grim... wrote:
You lose all of them except for the yellow one, I think. Which would make sense, as you've told it not to be a router any more.


Ah, of course... Silly me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:43 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 48173
Location: Nottingham
DavPaz wrote:

Heh, I remember that thread frightening the life out of me at the time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:48 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
Hello, old thread!

I've just cancelled my Virgin Media services and am moving to BT. I don't think I've ever been with BT before.

Anyway. I got very sick of being called every couple of weeks by Virgin and them trying to get me to spend more money on tablets and extra sim cards and the like. I don't use the Tivo box anymore as 90% of the channels were grayed out and the HD channels were fucking miles down the list. I haven't used the land line in... I don't even know how long. I tried to get them to cancel the TV service and the remove the phone line, but that would've made my bill go up 8). The last straw was an email the other day saying my bill was going up again. Fuck em. The internet service is nice, but the company is bobbins.

For a few pounds less a month, I can get BT Infinity 2 at 72mbs (with a better upload speed than Virgin, Plex fans) and they'll send me a new youview box to replace the ancient one I bought from Cash Converters when my tolerance of the Tivo ran out. I just need to find out if I can use my current router with BT or not. Or of the BT router can do the port forwarding that I need.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:30 
Excellent Member

Joined: 5th Dec, 2010
Posts: 2926
Quote:
youview box to replace the ancient one I bought from Cash Converters


Then sent me one of those 18 months ago, I had the original one with the 1TB drive for recording.

The new was much smaller and had no HD, it was always very hot as well, we don't really watch much over the air TV but it still heated up after a couple of hours

Then I had the living room completely redecorated and re floored so packed all the AV stuff away, when I came to set everything back up again it wouldn't work so I went back to the original one.

Use BT myself, although the speeds are slower than the fastest Virgin its rock solid and they never packet shape or bother you about downloading.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:40 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
No HD? Are you sure? Because it's essentially a freeview box.

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/deta ... es-from-bt

I'm getting the little one on the right. Definitely says HD on there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:41 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
Hard Drive.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:41 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
Ah, I see. Confusing in context.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:45 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61915
Location: Your Mum
And because HD stands for High Definition ;)

I mean, it still might be.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:01 
User avatar
Comfortably Dumb

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 9596
Location: Sunny Stoke
DavPaz wrote:
For a few pounds less a month, I can get BT Infinity 2 at 72mbs (with a better upload speed than Virgin, Plex fans) and they'll send me a new youview box to replace the ancient one I bought from Cash Converters when my tolerance of the Tivo ran out. I just need to find out if I can use my current router with BT or not. Or of the BT router can do the port forwarding that I need.


How much are you paying with BT, if you don't mind me asking? I scrapped my Virgin TV and Phone, so just have the broadband at £33 a month. I toyed with the idea of looking at their other bundles to see if I can save money or get a better deal generally, but their website just pushes you to phone up, which is annoying when they have all the 'click here to view your offers' stuff. Been with Virgin for years, but I might switch.

_________________
Consolemad | Under Logic
Curse, the day is long
Realise you don't belong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:03 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
It's a shade over £40 for the phone, 72mbs broadband and the basic TV package.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:07 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13391
Location: Parts unknown
I am with Virgin and used to get calls all the time trying to sell me things. I told them to stop though and surprisingly, they did.

They also told me that my bill would be cheaper if I had the TV service. I told them I didn't want an engineer drilling holes in my walls and trailing cables through my house (like they did at my friends) so I declined their offer.

I did ask if I could have the TV and not have it installed though, thus making my bill cheaper.

They said I couldn't.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 20:07 
Excellent Member

Joined: 5th Dec, 2010
Posts: 2926
DavPaz wrote:
No HD? Are you sure? Because it's essentially a freeview box.

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/deta ... es-from-bt

I'm getting the little one on the right. Definitely says HD on there.



Yes they sent that mini one it was shit, no issue really as the older one with Hard Drive works fine.

On the topic of HD channels, I do find that the sound goes and I have to reboot the box every now and again!

If you are into you free to air TV then its a good box, youview is a good feature.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 20:55 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
Ah... so you're saying my current youview box will just magically become a BT box when it's on the BT network? Excellent.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:45 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
Grrr... I've just discovered that my current router won't be able to do the VDSL standard for BT fibre, so I'm going to be stuck with the BT hub for the foreseeable.

I *think* I'm getting the Smart Hub (Home Hub 6). Any experience with this? I specifically need port forwarding and DHCP reservation to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 13:48 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13924
I've got that and whilst I don't use either of those things they're both definitely there in the settings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 13:52 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 45108
I don't think I've seen a router in 15 years that doesn't have those things

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 14:02 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31704
Thanks, both. I should be ok then.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 90 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Columbo, The Greys, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.