Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.
It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 14:34

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:39 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 15346
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
Meanwhile, my problems werre sorted by a factory reset. It's now working with no problems at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:20 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 17998
Location: shropshire, uk
I have not had any problems..

Is setting the modem easy to do?

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 21:33 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31680
On a whim, I've flipped back to router mode and it's had a firmware update and is much better. Much better indeed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 21:56 
User avatar
Goth

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 3741
On my 60meg virgin connection and superhub I don't seem to be able to get a download faster than about 4MB/S

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:19 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31680
Sigh. When virgin moved my account to the new house, they insisted on giving me a new super hub. Only after the engineer left did I notice that the Internet wasn't connecting. A lengthy call to virgin has established that the new hub is faulty and will only work in modem mode. New one on the way and back to my edimax router again (which I may just stick with anyway as the wireless range is excellent)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:37 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
Why not just plug the edimax router into your "modem"?

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:10 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31680
Grim... wrote:
Why not just plug the edimax router into your "modem"?

I have. Was that not clear?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:30 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
I guess not :)

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 13:00 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31680
New hub arrived and installed. All is well. Wireless range even seems drastically better. Result


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:19 
User avatar
Kinda Funny Lookin'

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3102
Location: Sheffield or Chiswick
Virgin Media being bought out by Liberty Global

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21347814

_________________
If work was so rewarding the rich would have bought it all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 15:54 
User avatar
ugvm'er at heart...

Joined: 4th Mar, 2010
Posts: 18887
Branson says this will be good for customers, while he rolls around naked in £50 notes.

_________________
http://www.trooperlooper.co.uk - Awesome MX5 blog of awesomeness.
http://www.anamateursews.co.uk - Look at me, i'm a sewing machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 22:25 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13358
Location: Parts unknown
DavPaz wrote:
The superhub is now in Modem Mode and there it will stay. Crappy wireless range and performance, random drop outs and some quite frankly bizarre DHCP glitches have turned me off it. Old router now firmly back in place.


I'm having a speed upgrade soon and I've just been sent an email telling me that I need a new "super" hub. I presume, since the current router I have does everything I want, that turning off the wireless part of it is easy?

Also, they want to send an engineer round to install it and tell me how it works... What a complete waste of time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 22:44 
Filthy Junkie Bitch

Joined: 17th Dec, 2008
Posts: 7926
TheVision wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
The superhub is now in Modem Mode and there it will stay. Crappy wireless range and performance, random drop outs and some quite frankly bizarre DHCP glitches have turned me off it. Old router now firmly back in place.


I'm having a speed upgrade soon and I've just been sent an email telling me that I need a new "super" hub. I presume, since the current router I have does everything I want, that turning off the wireless part of it is easy?

Also, they want to send an engineer round to install it and tell me how it works... What a complete waste of time.

He won't waste much time doing that. Not as much as you waste waiting for him to not turn up anyway.

Virgin media is like a hot younger girlfriend who knows she is. Great when its turned on, a pain in the tits until you're plugged in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 10:41 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8511
I want to dump the bt phone line and infinity 2 and get just-100meg-broadband virgin, to save £9/mo (£14/mo for the 3 months with the intro discount).

Is the superhub sorted these days? Do they fuck about with shaping/limits?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 11:03 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
They shape Newsgroup traffic (unless you use a secure connection).

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:42 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8511
That it? What are uploads like? I get 16 on my 75 infinity.

They've apparently put the price up since I last looked. Tossers. Still cheaper though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 13:01 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
Dunno, I don't really upload a lot of stuff, or use torrents.

I can run a test for you, if you'd like.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 13:57 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31680
Significantly less than 16 I suspect. I get 2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 14:19 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
Image

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 14:23 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
That upspeed is rubbish, although you don't really feel it much. Mind you, you don't really notice the >100Mb download either, compared to the 50 I used to have.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 15:45 
User avatar
Level 6 Laser Lotus

Joined: 26th Aug, 2010
Posts: 2069
Grim... wrote:
Image


bah looks like I may have to look at Virgin next, I get better upload, but who cares about that

Image

What is the monthly package cost? also do you get any usage caps?

_________________
Shin: a device for finding furniture in the dark

If at first, the idea is not absurd, then there is no hope for it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 15:54 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
I don't get any usage caps. Monthly cost last month was... Er... £120.13. That has two Tivo boxes on the "XL" package, Sky Sports and home phone as well, though.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 15:55 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
Ah, here we go:

Code:
Your package
Bundle Charges
Talk Unlimited Calldispl TV Size: X L 1 Add Set Top Box(es) V HD Monthly Fee TiVo Monthly Fee Extra Set Top Box Discount Broadband XXL (Up To 120mb)
Bundle Charges total£72.01
Phone line rental
Line Rental
Phone line rental total£15.99
Premium add-ons
Sports1,Sports2
Premium add-ons total£27.25
Your package total£115.25
Usage charges
View details Telephone calls for xxxxxxxxx (excl VAT)
Calls below your itemisation threshold (default - calls below 50p)   £1.12
Calls above your itemisation threshold (default - calls above 50p)   £2.95
VAT   Amount
(VAT on Telephone calls charged at 20% on £4.07)   £0.81
Telephone Calls Total£4.88
Usage charges Total£4.88

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 16:50 
User avatar
Level 6 Laser Lotus

Joined: 26th Aug, 2010
Posts: 2069
Cheers Grim...

_________________
Shin: a device for finding furniture in the dark

If at first, the idea is not absurd, then there is no hope for it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 18:08 
User avatar
Eggcellent Member

Joined: 16th Aug, 2008
Posts: 412
Might want to edit your home phone number out of that chap


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 20:52 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
Meh, I just shout at the house phone. Mrs Grim... answers it sometimes, then seems surprised that it's a sales call.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:01 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 31680
I've just been offered my speed boost and as I was flicking through the t&c's, I saw this...

Quote:
We've got great news for all customers on our broadband tiers of 30Mb and above. After listening to your feedback, we've decided to stop applying our traffic management policy to download speeds. So now you can download as much as you like without worrying about traffic management slowing you down.

Our new policy is simple:

We only restrict upload speed, not download speed
Your speed is only reduced while the upload threshold is exceeded. So the speed reduction could only last as little as an hour as long as you reduce your uploads


Good news.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 21:24 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13358
Location: Parts unknown
I had my new superhub installed today and I've had an upgrade to 50Mb/s. Wow.. It's fast.

The superhub seems to be alright so far too. I asked the installer what they were like and he said that this one is a new version as they had problems with the range on the old versions. Overall, and so far, I'm happy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 21:42 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 61882
Location: Your Mum
They won't give me a new one. Cunts.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Virgin Superhub
PostPosted: Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:35 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 17998
Location: shropshire, uk
How come?

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MaliA, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.