Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:20

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:28 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32114
In another thread Grim... mentioned his complex home network setup and stated that home networking is only going to become more complex. This got me wondering about the current state of home networking. I have been fiddling with various solutions since I first got Broadband back in the dim dark days of 2002.

Here's my setup:

Attachment:
Network.png


It works well and has room for expansion. I'd like to know how your homes are wired up. Do tell.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:43 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 29515
O2 ADSL to Draytek modem to Airport Extreme Base Station.

Connected to the AEBS:-
1) gigabit wired to Windows Home Server
2) 100 meg wired to switch under TV
3) 200 meg (hah) wired to powerline adaptor
4) wifi to 2x MacBooks, 2x iPhones, 1x iPad, etc
5) Airport Express under TV (for iTunes streaming)

Connected to the switch under the TV:
1) Boxee
2) PS3
3) Xbox 360
(I'd make this gigabit but the Boxee Box only has a 10/100 ethernet adaptor anyway so I don't care.)

Connected to the powerline network:
1) One-port adaptor in kitchen that connects to a second Airport Express.
2) Four-port adaptor in office that connects to desktop PC and printer.

Fairly sure my 5 GHz Wifi network outperforms the 200 meg powerline one, so I use the MacBook on wifi even when it's in the office. I should test that hypothesis though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:52 
User avatar
Isn't that lovely?

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8741
Location: Devon
Wireless Router wired to a gigabyte switch

Connected Wirelessly we have:

Xbox 360
2* Wii (one with a broken optical drive)
2* Netbook
Laptop (not often used)
Sky Anytime+
3* Boys computers in their bedrooms
OLD EPOS with usb (connected to TV)
Mobile Phone
I have a DS (but the router is not currently configured to let it through)

Wired to the switch:

Printer
3* Crappy computers that don't work as well as they should and rarely get used.

I guess I need to sort out the network a bit really.

Malc

_________________
Where's the Kaboom? I was expecting an Earth shattering Kaboom!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:57 
User avatar
Comfortably Dumb

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 9782
Location: Sunny Stoke
Mine's nice and simple...

Virgin/Netgear Wireless Router

- Wired -
Desktop PC (just a spare)

- Wireless -
Main Desktop PC upstairs
Netbook
Xbox 360
Wii

_________________
Consolemad | Under Logic
Curse, the day is long
Realise you don't belong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:57 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18126
Location: shropshire, uk
DavPaz wrote:
In another thread Grim... mentioned his complex home network setup and stated that home networking is only going to become more complex. This got me wondering about the current state of home networking. I have been fiddling with various solutions since I first got Broadband back in the dim dark days of 2002.

Here's my setup:

Attachment:
Network.png


It works well and has room for expansion. I'd like to know how your homes are wired up. Do tell.


Roughly this, just not gigabit yet. My NAS is under the TV too

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:59 
User avatar
baron of techno

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 24136
Location: fife
Mine goes: Netgear ADSL modem/router/wireless box
1 wire to iMac (computer room)
1 wire to xBox 360 (living room)
1 wire to spare bedroom / laboratory (nothing connected)

Wireless iPhone, iPad, netbook. Old laptop etc.

Used to be more complicated. I got fed up with that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:00 
User avatar
Part physicist, part WARLORD

Joined: 2nd Apr, 2008
Posts: 13421
Location: Chester, UK
Phone socket -> Wireless router -> All devices.

The router blatantly can't handle that much, but I'm not trailing wires.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:02 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 42316
Location: West Yorkshire
Phone socket -> SKY router -> Xbox through a cable, everything else is wireless, as I don't like cables about the place.

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:09 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14028
I have the phone coming in upstairs to the modem where there's a couple of PCs, then a cable goes downstairs to another modem which I just use as a wireless access point thing and which has the PS3/360/TV wired into it. Wireless things don't seem to do too well in this house so having an upstairs and downstairs access point was the only way to solve it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:16 
User avatar
Lord Humongous

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 42725
Location: The erogenous zone
Wireless router with:
Wired connection to my old G4 Mac (cant remember last time I switched it on)
Wireless connection to my laptop, Mrs's laptop, 360, my phone, Mrs's phone & iPod Touch.

_________________
Flickr Behance Discogs

'Not without talent but dragged down by bass turgidity'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:06 
User avatar
Can you dig it?

Joined: 5th Apr, 2008
Posts: 3060
Some crappy Telco provided modem-router (possibly could do with replacing as although it's only a year old it's beginning to flake).

Wired:
Xbox 360
Revo (as a media centre)
A WD NAS (for media)
'Big' PC

Wireless:
Laptop
iPhone 3G
Lady T's X10 mini
Netbook (not used that often any more)
Wii (Almost never used)
DS (In a drawer, pretty much never used).

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:11 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 45359
I have a Sky Sagem router. It's got a wired connection to my Home Server, and a powerline connection to my 360. Laptops/mobiles/iPad are wireless.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:14 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 5924
Location: Stockport - The Jewel in the Ring
NetGear ADSL modem/router

1 x Windows PC
1 x NAS
1 x to other 10/100 hub


10/100 hub

1 x iMac
1 x Mono laser
1 x Colour laser

Wireless

802.11b

iPod Touch
2 x HTC Desire

802.11g

1 x laptop

When I bring the Funsquare home from Dublin, it will live downstairs, but I'm not too happy about it being on wireless. Might powerline it as a test.

_________________
Mint To Be Stationery - Looking for a Secret Santa gift? Try our online shops at Mint To Be.

Book me in the Face | Tweet me. Tweet me like a British nanny.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:15 
User avatar
Lord Humongous

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 42725
Location: The erogenous zone
Plissken wrote:
but I'm not too happy about it being on wireless.

Why? Mines been absolutely fine.

_________________
Flickr Behance Discogs

'Not without talent but dragged down by bass turgidity'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:28 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 5924
Location: Stockport - The Jewel in the Ring
The laptop occasionally drops out and then immediately reconnects when downstairs. The Funsquare will be downstairs, with the router upstairs. So just thinking out loud really.

_________________
Mint To Be Stationery - Looking for a Secret Santa gift? Try our online shops at Mint To Be.

Book me in the Face | Tweet me. Tweet me like a British nanny.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:31 
User avatar

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 14497
I've got my Virgin 20Mb cable modem heading into a wireless router. From there I've got my PC, 360 and PS3 cabled in, and the Wi-Fi is used for laptops and phones.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:23 

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 5318
Kingston Communications 'broad'band line

goes into:

Ubiquitous Thompson router you get everywhere

802.11g link to:

Cyberpower Gaming rig ---bridged--- XBox 360
Eee1000H --bridged--Mesh music studio PC
XBox 360 (lounge, media centre stuff)
Eee 901
Eee901 --bridged-- LG internet TV
Dell Inspiron something
Wii

Mobile devices on the router's list:

DS, DS Lite, PSP, HTC Desire, Nokia N95, SE Blue S60 Experia thing, 2 Kindles and a

Wired: Original XBox (for no reason whatsoever anymore)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:27 
User avatar
baron of techno

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 24136
Location: fife
Quote:
---bridged---


Good lord, you're a glutton for punishment!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:29 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 45359
Holy shit, GY!

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:53 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8556
Code:
BT Infinity => Airport Express -> AV receiver [living room]
               PS3
               Homeplug => Homeplug => Airport Express -> Speakers [kitchen]
                           Homeplug => Switch => 360 [bedroom]
                                                 Airport Express -> AV receiver
                                                 BluRay player
                           Homeplug => Switch => Media server laptop [spare bedroom]
                                                 NAS
               Laptop, Touch, phone [WLAN]
Unfortunately, the electrician quoted a grand for loads of socket quantity/placement work or 3.5k for "also a complete rewire", which rules out running Cat5e everywhere instead of using HomePlugs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:41 
User avatar
Ticket to Ride World Champion

Joined: 18th Apr, 2008
Posts: 11421
I have a PC on XP and a laptop on Vista, I can only connect in one direction, and that is when I switch off my firewall. Even then, any attempt at data transfer is so slow, it is quicker to burn to CD and and then copy off that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 15:33 
User avatar
Excellently Membered

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 1267
Location: Behind you!
Doctor Glyndwr wrote:
Fairly sure my 5 GHz Wifi network outperforms the 200 meg powerline one, so I use the MacBook on wifi even when it's in the office. I should test that hypothesis though.


My 200Mbps powerlines don't work anywhere near as faster as wireless. Probably max out at 20-25Mbps I used to get similar speeds with 3 plugs though as I only use 2 now.

So my network is:


Code:
Virgin Modem (Lounge)
         -> D-Link Wirless/LAN Router
                 -> D-Link Wireless
                        -> iGay
                        -> BB Gay 8000
                        -> Mac Air Lappy
                 -> D-Link LAN
                        -> PowerLine
                        -> Wii

PowerLine (Home Office soon to become nursery)
   -> 16 Port Switch
      ->Xbox
      ->PC1...2
      ->Work Laptop
      ->NAS



I find the PowerLine are reliable as hell although they aren't fast enough to handle a 100Mbps NAS, so all devices that need fast access are connected to the switch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 15:34 

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 5318
Craster wrote:
Holy shit, GY!



Why, what?

Am I doing it wrong?

If you are referring to the bridged stuff, these are things that only need to be online occasionally, which I'm not forking out £20-50 for a wifi adapter for, when I've got tiny underpowered PCs that'll do the job just as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 15:37 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 45359
Nah, just that it's tons of stuff, and highly complicated.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 15:38 
User avatar
Excellently Membered

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 1267
Location: Behind you!
All you need is a river to cross! :hat:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 15:50 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 29515
itsallwater wrote:
My 200Mbps powerlines don't work anywhere near as faster as wireless. Probably max out at 20-25Mbps I used to get similar speeds with 3 plugs though as I only use 2 now.
Thinking on, when I tested the powerline from the utility room (where my router is) to my office, it was managing approximately 7.5 GB/hour. Which is slower than the fastest 802.11n I've seen at about 17 GB/hr.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 15:57 
SupaMod
User avatar
Everybodys gilf

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 45359
I've got 200Mbps plugs, and I get around 80Mbit out of them.

_________________
GoddessJasmine wrote:
Drunk, pulled Craster's pork, waiting for brdyime story,reading nuts. Xz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 16:06 

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 5318
Craster wrote:
Nah, just that it's tons of stuff, and highly complicated.


It's not all on at once!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 16:07 
User avatar
Excellently Membered

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 1267
Location: Behind you!
Craster wrote:
I've got 200Mbps plugs, and I get around 80Mbit out of them.

I've had my plugs for around 3-4 years... could be that they be old.... or it could be I have a crap power system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Home Networks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 16:08 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 29515
Craster wrote:
I've got 200Mbps plugs, and I get around 80Mbit out of them.
Hmm. That's about 5x the speed I get, then (35 GB/hr, right?)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pod People, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.