Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.
It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:54

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:23 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
Also don't buy Linksys velop. The bt mesh WiFi is apparently actually both good and highly cost effective however.

Mesh WiFi is the future, everyone should do it.

Just not with Linksys velop.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:29 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
Mr Dave wrote:
Get an XBox 360

I've got one, that's part of the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:31 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
Buy an Xbox one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:33 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
BikNorton wrote:
Buy an Xbox one.

I've got an original xbox, does that count?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:39 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
Well it would remove the need to get your network to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:44 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 49770
Location: Nottingham
Joans wrote:
Lonewolves wrote:
Joans wrote:
Lonewolves wrote:
Joans wrote:
So when you say connect the switch to "your router", you don't mean the one that I've already said won't connect to the modem over wi-fi?

No, forget your 2nd router. Connect the switch to the modem/router over Ethernet. You don't need two routers.

Ah, so when you said cable management, you meant cables everywhere.

I don't want to run a cable from room A to room B. Ethernet over powerline is an option if necessary, but as I can sit in room B and connect to the wi-fi, I assume I can get something that will connect to the wi-fi and let me plug other bits into it.

You would need one long cable running between rooms. I assume you'll have cables everywhere anyway if you say you have lots of things to plug into it.

You could try putting your other router into bridge/repeater mode if it can do that. Or get a separate repeater that has Ethernet ports. But it'll be shit. Get a switch.


Cables everywhere behind a unit != Cables running between rooms.

Can I not use a switch in conjunction with the powerline adaptors?

You can, but it's overkill at that point and you'll have a bottleneck using EoP. May as well use a much cheaper hub or bridge.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 22:59 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
So, basically, just get a router that has a bridge mode?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:03 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 49770
Location: Nottingham
Joans wrote:
So, basically, just get a router that has a bridge mode?

Why? That's more expensive too. Just get a dumb bridge or hub. If you're not using routing or switching there's no point paying more for the privilege.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:24 
Excellent Member

Joined: 5th Dec, 2010
Posts: 3226
BikNorton wrote:
Also don't buy Linksys velop. The bt mesh WiFi is apparently actually both good and highly cost effective however.

Mesh WiFi is the future, everyone should do it.

Just not with Linksys velop.


I remember you had Velop when I posted about it, did it not work in the end?

Only had one issue with a node I put in the shed 130ft from the house, kept dropping out, which is odd as when i turned it off there was a good 60% signal wireless connection from the one in the house in the same area. It's at the front of the house now

True the BT is much cheaper and I have a few mates on it and they love it, my dad is getting it as well

Mesh is the way forward, more so for those using shitty ISP routers, my Dads BT home hub is a nightmare, issues with Echo and problems with 5Ghz and 2.4GZ all the time


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:30 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
Lonewolves wrote:
Joans wrote:
So, basically, just get a router that has a bridge mode?

Why? That's more expensive too. Just get a dumb bridge or hub. If you're not using routing or switching there's no point paying more for the privilege.

Am I not using routing? I'm not sure I even know anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:35 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
I kept the velop but it's still not really living up to its promises.

A firmware update improved nodes' recognition that they should use intermediate hops but we still get sluggish performance on things like Netflix until it settles out.

In fact, ho ho, it dropped on my phone while typing this.

Being able to run cable to the garage and put a node in there will be a game changer. The new reduced cost nodes will help justify pushing at the extremities too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:36 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
@joans you want a switch, not a router. Companies like tplink have made switches so cheap there's no point buying a hub. A hub will dumbly send all data to all ports; a switch will semi-intelligently figure out what is where and drop where it knows it can. A router is, in household terms, just the thing the ISP sends you, and that's that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:40 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
I can't help but feel I'm going in circles at this point.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:41 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
That's networking for you. Tplink gigabit switch:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00ZOOJXEG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:46 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
That's exactly what I'm looking at right now. If I get a powerline adaptor, plug one end into my modem and the other end into that switch. Can I also plug in, say a ps4 to the switch, and it will connect to the internet?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:47 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 25th Jul, 2010
Posts: 9171
Joans wrote:
I can't help but feel I'm going in circles at this point.


You should listen to everything everyone's said; but at the same time you should ignore everything you've heard. Anything else is mad, but also the most important advice you will ever hear.

I honestly don't know why you would think it's difficult.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:48 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
Gah, just reread you don't want wires. Sorry.

Edit: Yes, that will definitely work.

But maybe just buy bt whole house WiFi, even though it's more expensive. I did not enjoy powerline ethernet. Maybe if you have good wiring, nothing 'noisy' like an older fridge or freezer, and modern powerline has fixed stuff it will.work for you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:51 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
At a guess, and I've not had this checked out yet, we have shitty wiring.

This has been the epitome of beex recommendation threads. Thank you all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:53 
User avatar

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 30216
Joans wrote:
That's exactly what I'm looking at right now. If I get a powerline adaptor, plug one end into my modem and the other end into that switch. Can I also plug in, say a ps4 to the switch, and it will connect to the internet?

Yes.

In one room:
Router <—ethernet—> powerline doodad 1

In second room:
Powerline 2 <—ethernet—> switch <—ethernet—> devices

The powerline acts exactly as if it’s a piece of ethernet cable stretching from one room to another. The switch lets you have multiple things hanging off the end of the single length of “ethernet” cable that the powerline is acting as. You can plug as much stuff into the switch as it has ports and everything will get connected.

Shitty wiring can be an issue for powerline, although the newer ones are better than they were years ago. Order decent ones from Amazon and keep the box. Try them out for a few days and be prepared to return them if they’re unreliable (as in: the connection drops a lot. They’ll have LEDs on that turn red, or something similar.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:54 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
I'm not sure how whole home wi-fi will help with all my wired devices, unless I'm misreading something?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 23:57 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
Doctor Glyndwr wrote:
Joans wrote:
That's exactly what I'm looking at right now. If I get a powerline adaptor, plug one end into my modem and the other end into that switch. Can I also plug in, say a ps4 to the switch, and it will connect to the internet?

Yes.

In one room:
Router <—ethernet—> powerline doodad 1

In second room:
Powerline 2 <—ethernet—> switch <—ethernet—> devices

The powerline acts exactly as if it’s a piece of ethernet cable stretching from one room to another. The switch lets you have multiple things hanging off the end of the single length of “ethernet” cable that the powerline is acting as. You can plug as much stuff into the switch as it has ports and everything will get connected.

Shitty wiring can be an issue for powerline, although the newer ones are better than they were years ago. Order decent ones from Amazon and keep the box. Try them out for a few days and be prepared to return them if they’re unreliable (as in: the connection drops a lot. They’ll have LEDs on that turn red, or something similar.)


I love you. I'll order some shit now and complain in a couple of days when it doesn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 0:01 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
Hey, my post vanished! Great the forum still definitely doesn't do that!

I may have got confused ('drunk').

Velop (don't buy it) lets you plug devices (including switches) into a node's Ethernet port so they get to the internet wirelessly.

I kind of assumed BT whole home does that too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 0:04 
User avatar
Sitting balls-back folder

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 8712
Velop is kind of hard to talk about because it has an awesome feature set.

Reliable mesh WiFi not being a feature it's all that good at, unfortunately, it being the key one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:27 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 49770
Location: Nottingham
Joans wrote:
Doctor Glyndwr wrote:
Joans wrote:
That's exactly what I'm looking at right now. If I get a powerline adaptor, plug one end into my modem and the other end into that switch. Can I also plug in, say a ps4 to the switch, and it will connect to the internet?

Yes.

In one room:
Router <—ethernet—> powerline doodad 1

In second room:
Powerline 2 <—ethernet—> switch <—ethernet—> devices

The powerline acts exactly as if it’s a piece of ethernet cable stretching from one room to another. The switch lets you have multiple things hanging off the end of the single length of “ethernet” cable that the powerline is acting as. You can plug as much stuff into the switch as it has ports and everything will get connected.

Shitty wiring can be an issue for powerline, although the newer ones are better than they were years ago. Order decent ones from Amazon and keep the box. Try them out for a few days and be prepared to return them if they’re unreliable (as in: the connection drops a lot. They’ll have LEDs on that turn red, or something similar.)


I love you. I'll order some shit now and complain in a couple of days when it doesn't work.

This is what I'm using, but the wiring has been done recently so it works fine.

Also your ISP's router is doing the routing. You don't need another router unless you're planning on segmenting your network. Which I'm sure you're not.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:41 
User avatar
Excellent Painter

Joined: 30th Apr, 2008
Posts: 6301
Location: Behind you
Doctor Glyndwr wrote:
How do you weatherseal the cables, DB? Run them through PVC?

Weather seal? We don’t live on fucking Venus. Besides, Mr Senior Moment, we had this very conversation when I did this a couple of years ago and we came to the conclusion that you can, but it’s probably not necessary. As it turns out, we were right.

_________________
twitter || website
Malibu Stacy. Everybody's favourite back seat driver


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 17:40 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32922
As long as the holes are plugged.

Missus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 0:47 
User avatar
Fitness Nut...

Joined: 25th Sep, 2008
Posts: 18438
Location: shropshire, uk
I got a devolo, the reciver end has 3 lan and WiFi.

https://www.devolo.co.uk/dlan-powerline-adapter/

_________________
MetalAngel wrote:
Kovacs: From 'unresponsive' to 'kebab' in 3.5 seconds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 21:39 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
That was so much easier than you lot made it seem.

Admittedly, it might be impractically slow, but I'll worry about that another day.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 21:53 
User avatar

Joined: 31st Mar, 2008
Posts: 8049
Ah, that's ok (I think)


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid Networking Questions
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 21:54 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32922
So... how did you do it? Diagrams welcome


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 65 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pod People, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.