Be Excellent To Each Other

And, you know, party on. Dude.
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:35

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:24 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 62770
Location: Your Mum
DavPaz wrote:
Lonewolves wrote:
TheVision wrote:
Sorry Lonewolves, I went to see my dad last night and didn't get back till late and once I had all my jobs done, I didn't have time for anything else but... I'll get on tonight.

Unless you'r sorted of course? I've seen Gazchaps files but do you still need the bios files?

DavPaz sorted me out the Kickstart ROMs so I'm all good I think. Cheers though. :)

Sssshhhh! Commodore will have my arse!

You certainly shouldn't share them with me if they contain the A1200 one.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:27 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
Grim... wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
Lonewolves wrote:
TheVision wrote:
Sorry Lonewolves, I went to see my dad last night and didn't get back till late and once I had all my jobs done, I didn't have time for anything else but... I'll get on tonight.

Unless you'r sorted of course? I've seen Gazchaps files but do you still need the bios files?

DavPaz sorted me out the Kickstart ROMs so I'm all good I think. Cheers though. :)

Sssshhhh! Commodore will have my arse!

You certainly shouldn't share them with me if they contain the A1200 one.

Gods, no. Do you think I'm insane?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:30 
User avatar
Paws for thought

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 15594
Location: Just Outside That London, England, Europe
Grim... wrote:
I don't seem to be able to download GazChap's files using either method :(

Gazchaps secret plan to FUCK GRIM... UP finally come to fruition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:05 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11541
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Haha. I wonder if I've got to open ports or something, it's the first torrent I've created and I'm using qbBittorrent which I thought would do everything with uPNP.

I have all the Kickstart ROMs etc. too if anyone needs those.

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 13:25 
SupaMod
User avatar
Est. 1978

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 62770
Location: Your Mum
The direct link downloads to about 300MB for me, then fails.

_________________
Grim... wrote:
I wish Craster had left some girls for the rest of us.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 13:28 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
Grim... wrote:
The direct link downloads to about 300MB for me, then fails.

Have you tried JDownloader?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 14:10 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11541
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
uPNP was turned off in my torrent client. Have switched it on.

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 16:54 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13880
Location: Parts unknown
I had a quick look at this night and ended up playing Cannon Fodder for ages. Brilliant game and the emulator works great!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 17:38 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3282
Definitely FS-UAE with https://oagd.net/ integration. It also makes loading WHDload games easier.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 20:03 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11541
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Oh yeah, forgot to mention that. Get an account on OAGD, sign in to it with FS-UAE and scan the WHDLoad games in my zip, and it'll put them all in nice easily launchable setups for you.

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 20:04 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
Awesome! Screw Winuae!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:36 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 49154
Location: Nottingham
I must get round to downloading all this stuff at the weekend.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:57 
User avatar
Bad Girl

Joined: 20th Apr, 2008
Posts: 10720
What is it anyway for us dumbasses that don't know much about anything? is it just the emulator or is it the emulator and all the Amiga games preinstalled or summats?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 13:15 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11541
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
FS-UAE: Amiga emulator based on WinUAE but (IMO) better - certainly more accessible to non-spods.
WHDLoad: A program that allowed you to install games to a hard drive, provided that you had the original game and someone had written a "slave" for that game to make it work on a hard drive.

The stuff I've posted in M/O is just a collection of all (or most, I expect, as I may have pruned) known WHDLoad games ready to play using FS-UAE :)

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 14:11 
8-Bit Champion
User avatar
Two heads are better than one

Joined: 16th Apr, 2008
Posts: 13097
Saturnalian wrote:
What is it anyway for us dumbasses that don't know much about anything? is it just the emulator or is it the emulator and all the Amiga games preinstalled or summats?


I think i could probably write a 'how to' using this for people who have no idea what they are doing but dont know if i'll get the chance to do it any time 'soon'

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:00 
User avatar
Excellent Member

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3282
Saturnalian wrote:
What is it anyway for us dumbasses that don't know much about anything? is it just the emulator or is it the emulator and all the Amiga games preinstalled or summats?


Just do what Gazchap said. It's very simple actually. My main problem with WHDload games is that i don't get to see awesome cracker intros.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 13:23 
User avatar
gooby pls

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 11541
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
That's racist! ;)

_________________
Mostly pointless witterings of a fool. gazchap.com
Source Design - Graphic Design and Web Design Shropshire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 15:02 
User avatar
Decapodian

Joined: 15th Oct, 2010
Posts: 3133
Can someone assist with Kickstart ROMs please?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 16:10 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
Dr Zoidberg wrote:
Can someone assist with Kickstart ROMs please?

Thanks

Certainly not! It's against the law!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:27 
User avatar
Participant in dramatic games

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 3339
Location: United Provinces
the people from sensible soccer.de now released a great version, with everything including online packed in one exe/wine container...
http://files.swos.eu/swos16-17/

_________________
XBL: Romanista WiiU: Romanista77 Gamecenter: Romanista345 3DS 0318 8943 6467
Steam: Romanista345 PSN: Romanista345 Switch: 5098 6135 1325

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 21:02 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
So, I'll keep this out of the Cottage thread, because it's nerdy and normal people go there.

I've set up retropie in the Pi3 with a different emulator (amiberry) and fed it a few gigs of WHDLoad configs. It should now work in a plug and play way. I have a Mayflash megadrive controller adapter that takes 9-pin joysticks.

This is looking pretty good so far. I'll report back when the files have finished transferring.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 23:35 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13880
Location: Parts unknown
This sounds ace. Is that adaptor 2 player? Do you need me to bring a pad? I could even bring a CD32 pad to make it really authentic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 0:09 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
Yeah, it's two player. I have two joysticks but they're both technically Mega Drive controllers, so another would be welcome


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:48 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13880
Location: Parts unknown
Thinking about it, mine would probably be Megadrive controllers too. The CD32 pad is fine but you wouldn't pick it over a Megadrive pad. I'll bring a couple anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:00 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
Potentially bonehead question here: does the TV at the cottage have an HDMI input? I have phono cables for that authentic interlaced experience if not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:16 
User avatar
Gogmagog

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 42756
Location: West Yorkshire
There's a tv there?

_________________
Mr Chris wrote:
MaliA isn't just the best thing on the internet - he's the best thing ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:16 
User avatar
Lupine member

Joined: 27th Mar, 2008
Posts: 49154
Location: Nottingham
DavPaz wrote:
Potentially bonehead question here: does the TV at the cottage have an HDMI input? I have phono cables for that authentic interlaced experience if not.

It probably has eight of them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:17 
User avatar

Joined: 12th Apr, 2008
Posts: 12532
Location: Oxford
Lonewolves wrote:
DavPaz wrote:
Potentially bonehead question here: does the TV at the cottage have an HDMI input? I have phono cables for that authentic interlaced experience if not.

It probably has eight of them.


How do they fit so many onto that case?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:20 
SupaMod
User avatar
"Praisebot"

Joined: 30th Mar, 2008
Posts: 13880
Location: Parts unknown
I imagine it has just one, very big HDMI input... around 45% larger than a normal one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amiga emulation
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 20:46 
User avatar
I'm a computery guy!

Joined: 27th Jun, 2008
Posts: 32560
So this everything (apart from a USB power adapter) necessary to get the Amiga and SNES/Mega Drive emulator going full bore.

That's two Amiga controllers and two SNES controllers. Covers most bases.

The keyboard and mouse are necessary, sadly as I can't get the amiga emulator to quit using the controller alone.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Columbo, Vogons and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search within this thread:
You are using the 'Ted' forum. Bill doesn't really exist any more. Bogus!
Want to help out with the hosting / advertising costs? That's very nice of you.
Are you on a mobile phone? Try http://beex.co.uk/m/
RIP, Owen.

Powered by a very Grim... version of phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.